Silky Sweet Potato Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Like other people suggested, I lighted this up just a tad. I used I Can't believe it's not butter and I used 1/2 buttermilk and the other 1/2 Half & Half. I also added just a tiny bit of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazingly easy and delicious! I'm going to bake my sweet potatoes from now on instead of boiling. Baking causes water to evaporate, leaving an intensely sweet and flavorful potato. Absolutely no sugar needed. In the past, I've boiled my sweet potatoes, which made them lose a lot of their flavor. Pureeing in a food processor gave them a creamy and airy quality that I never got with mashing by hand. The only changes I made to make it healthier was to use fat free buttermilk, 1% milk, and half the butter. It was still unbelievably creamy with these substitutions. My husband, who doesn't care for sweet potatoes went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and took it to a Christmas party. Everyone loved them! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used heavy whipping cream since I didn't have whole milk on hand, and left out the buttermilk. They turned out very smooth and creamy, delicious! I used canned sweet potatoes, mashed them with a fork, and then put them in the food processor. Using the mixer seemed to pull out a lot of the small husk pieces that were still on the potatoes, they were wrapped around the beaters. I will be making these again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This was a nice complement to my mahi-mahi, and so delicious you can almost eat it as a dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
The name of this recipe is perfect "Silky" -- it is truly a wonderful side. The only change I made was cutting the butter back to 3 tbs and it couldn't have been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Roasting makes all the diff! Used whipping cream as that's what was at hand. Rave reviews - simple, delish dish! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Unbelievable. Smooth, tasty and such a pretty color. Not too sweet like so many sweet potato recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
ABSOLUTLY FANTASTIC! This is a very easy dish. I made it as written, only sbustituting fat free milk & buttermilk. DELICIOUS! I served it with Chilean Seabass, fresh greenbeans with garlic and a blue cheese, arugula and pear salad. I can't wait to make it again. p.s. I had to borrow a food processor and this seemed to be what makes this dish so easy and "silky sweet". Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I was so glad to have found this recipe. A restaurant by my house, that is no longer in business, used to sell a soft mashed sweet potato puree. It wasn't spicy or sweet but more buttery just like this recipe. I used to always order it. I started with 3 sweet potatoes. After they were baked I weighed them and they came out to be 1lb peeled. So, I just halved the rest of the ingredients. I added everything but no pepper. For the buttermilk I just did 2% milk and a couple drops of vinegar and let it sit. With the butter I used whipped butter to cut the saturated fat in half. I always roast sweet potatoes at 410 deg., for about an hour, and did the same with this recipe. I don't have a food processor, so I used the blender but I had to stop and stir a few times. I will definitely be making this every year. Thank you for posting a simple, basic, creamy recipe for mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States