Silky Sweet Potato Puree Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family really enjoyed this new way of serving sweet potatoes. Makes a great side dish for holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was amazing - we loved it! The taste is so wonderful and subtle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Amazingly easy and delicious! I'm going to bake my sweet potatoes from now on instead of boiling. Baking causes water to evaporate, leaving an intensely sweet and flavorful potato. Absolutely no sugar needed. In the past, I've boiled my sweet potatoes, which made them lose a lot of their flavor. Pureeing in a food processor gave them a creamy and airy quality that I never got with mashing by hand. The only changes I made to make it healthier was to use fat free buttermilk, 1% milk, and half the butter. It was still unbelievably creamy with these substitutions. My husband, who doesn't care for sweet potatoes went back for thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I've been making this puree for a very long time, since my oldest was very little. I don't use that much milk, just enough to thin it down enough to feed my child. Once he got older, I made it so I could add it to his macaroni and cheese mainly, but I'd stir it in to other foods to boost his vitamin/vegetable intake for the day. This is a good base recipe for most vegetable puree. If you'd rather not use milk or you have a lactose-intolerant family member, soy/rice/almond milk or broth works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I was so glad to have found this recipe. A restaurant by my house, that is no longer in business, used to sell a soft mashed sweet potato puree. It wasn't spicy or sweet but more buttery just like this recipe. I used to always order it. I started with 3 sweet potatoes. After they were baked I weighed them and they came out to be 1lb peeled. So, I just halved the rest of the ingredients. I added everything but no pepper. For the buttermilk I just did 2% milk and a couple drops of vinegar and let it sit. With the butter I used whipped butter to cut the saturated fat in half. I always roast sweet potatoes at 410 deg., for about an hour, and did the same with this recipe. I don't have a food processor, so I used the blender but I had to stop and stir a few times. I will definitely be making this every year. Thank you for posting a simple, basic, creamy recipe for mashed sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Excellent. I didn't even use the whole milk only a little buttermilk and the butter. I didn't measure, but I don't think it was more than 1/3 cup or so. It was the perfect consistency for me. When I was growing up, candied sweet potatoes were always served with greens--usually turnip or collards--so I sauteed some collard greens with onions and a spalsh of Dale's, a drop of liquid smoke, and a nice splash of apple cider vinegar. Took me back to my childhood only it was better! I would suggest adding a little of the milks and then checking your consistency--mine would have been a soup had I added a whole cup of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Like other people suggested, I lighted this up just a tad. I used I Can't believe it's not butter and I used 1/2 buttermilk and the other 1/2 Half & Half. I also added just a tiny bit of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe - I agree with others that there is too much liquid. I didn't even use 1/2 of the liquid called for. You could certainly add nutmeg and or cinnamon to punch up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and thought that it was OK. My uncle really liked it, though. It was really creamy and looked pretty but I thought that there was something not quite right about the flavor. Perhaps I just don't care for the buttermilk in it. I actually thought the potatoes tasted better before I added all the stuff. It wasn't a complete failure, but I don't think I'll be making it again unless I decide to try it with all plain milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This preparation is def unexpected when it comes to sweet potatoes, but I really enjoyed the change. I did add a few T of brown sugar and a few dashes of cinnamon. Simple and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States