Silky and Creamy Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This was amazingly good!! I did add a tsp of minced garlic to the onion/butter saute. Right before I added the flour, I added a splash of white wine and let it simmer for 1 min. I then used 1 can of pre-cooked wild rice (drained & rinsed), used only 1/2 tsp of salt, and added 2 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed small. Finally, I only needed 4c of milk. I think this could used some shredded carrots for color but a wonderful tasting soup that everyone loved. I highly recommend this soup and I'll be sure to make it many times to come! Thanks a bunch Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was really good. I modified it a little...used 1/2 cup of wild rice, 3.5 cups of vegetable broth (you absolutely need more than 1 cup of liquid or your rice will burn), 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms, 1 cup chopped carrots, 1 Tbs. garlic, 1/8 teaspoon ground thyme, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. I didn't add the 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the cooking rice because there was enough sodium in the broth. Instead of sauteing the vegetables in butter, I cooked them over low-med heat in a COVERED saucepan with a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil until tender. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this for dinner...even second helpings and again for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This soup was really good and easy to make! My dad said that it needed chicken in it, so the next time I made it, I added cooked chicken pieces to it. It was even better! I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Absolutely fantastic but i did alter it. I used a pkg mix of Wild Rice and Long Grain, and added most of that (cooked) to the rest of the recipe, instead of the wild rice (that was all i had on hand at the time) It was so easy and so incredibly good, that i've made it several times since. It even freezes well. It's so creamy, and so full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Preparing for a ski trip with my family my brother said longingly 'Too bad we don't know how to make that wild rice soup' refering the the soup made by a woman we once knew (and can no longer ask). I had thought it was from 'joy of cooking' but it wasn't and decided to search for it. Finding this recipe. It was perfect. I ended up using canned wild rice, 2 cups worth because my own wild rice burned (use the directions on the bag for the wild rice) and I used an extra tablespoon of flour and only 4 cups of water. It froze wonderfully and even my extremely picky boyfriend loved it and father told me to 'make sure we keep that recipe'. I think next time I'll try substituting half & half for half of the milk, as I remember that that is how I'd been told it was made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
YUM! I halved the celery & added shredded carrots. I also added about 4 tablespoons of flour, and a clove of minced garlic. Having never made a cream-based soup before, I realized that the soup ahd to almost-boil in order to thicken. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent. I cooked some carrots along with the onions and celery, and added some cut-up cooked chicken with the wild rice near the end of cooking. My kids love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very, very good! I am always looking for a good soup or chowder recipe, and this one always pleases. I substituted a bit of cream in place of milk to make it a touch creamier. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States