Silky and Creamy Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was really good. I modified it a little...used 1/2 cup of wild rice, 3.5 cups of vegetable broth (you absolutely need more than 1 cup of liquid or your rice will burn), 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms, 1 cup chopped carrots, 1 Tbs. garlic, 1/8 teaspoon ground thyme, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. I didn't add the 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the cooking rice because there was enough sodium in the broth. Instead of sauteing the vegetables in butter, I cooked them over low-med heat in a COVERED saucepan with a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil until tender. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Too much salt!!! Eliminate the 2 teaspoons and it is wonderful. Also use 4 cups of condensed milk, one cup chicken stock -- adds great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This was amazingly good!! I did add a tsp of minced garlic to the onion/butter saute. Right before I added the flour, I added a splash of white wine and let it simmer for 1 min. I then used 1 can of pre-cooked wild rice (drained & rinsed), used only 1/2 tsp of salt, and added 2 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed small. Finally, I only needed 4c of milk. I think this could used some shredded carrots for color but a wonderful tasting soup that everyone loved. I highly recommend this soup and I'll be sure to make it many times to come! Thanks a bunch Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent. I cooked some carrots along with the onions and celery, and added some cut-up cooked chicken with the wild rice near the end of cooking. My kids love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Preparing for a ski trip with my family my brother said longingly 'Too bad we don't know how to make that wild rice soup' refering the the soup made by a woman we once knew (and can no longer ask). I had thought it was from 'joy of cooking' but it wasn't and decided to search for it. Finding this recipe. It was perfect. I ended up using canned wild rice, 2 cups worth because my own wild rice burned (use the directions on the bag for the wild rice) and I used an extra tablespoon of flour and only 4 cups of water. It froze wonderfully and even my extremely picky boyfriend loved it and father told me to 'make sure we keep that recipe'. I think next time I'll try substituting half & half for half of the milk, as I remember that that is how I'd been told it was made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was really simple and yummy. I added sauteed mushrooms and some garlic to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was just ok for me. My husband said it deserves a 4 but I think I have to say 3. It didn't taste bad; it was just kind of boring. The flavor of the milk completely overpowered everything else. I love cream soups and I LOVE wild rice but I couldn't even really taste the flavor of the rice because the milk took over everything. I added carrots, garlic and mushrooms to the veggies at the beginning. If I were to make this again, I would replace half the milk with vegetable broth to cut the milk taste and add some flavor. Also agree that the salt quantity is too high-i did reduce that. As a side note, the leftover soup thickened up considerably and created kind of a creamy veggie rice-nice base/side for our leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This soup was really good and easy to make! My dad said that it needed chicken in it, so the next time I made it, I added cooked chicken pieces to it. It was even better! I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States