Silky and Creamy Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
My husband and I really enjoyed this for dinner...even second helpings and again for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
This soup was really good and easy to make! My dad said that it needed chicken in it, so the next time I made it, I added cooked chicken pieces to it. It was even better! I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Good soup, but way too much salt added in the second part of the recipe. Would recommend only using 1/2 tsp of salt, not the 2tsp. that the recipe calls for. Otherwise soup was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Absolutely fantastic but i did alter it. I used a pkg mix of Wild Rice and Long Grain, and added most of that (cooked) to the rest of the recipe, instead of the wild rice (that was all i had on hand at the time) It was so easy and so incredibly good, that i've made it several times since. It even freezes well. It's so creamy, and so full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
This was amazingly good!! I did add a tsp of minced garlic to the onion/butter saute. Right before I added the flour, I added a splash of white wine and let it simmer for 1 min. I then used 1 can of pre-cooked wild rice (drained & rinsed), used only 1/2 tsp of salt, and added 2 chicken breasts, cooked and cubed small. Finally, I only needed 4c of milk. I think this could used some shredded carrots for color but a wonderful tasting soup that everyone loved. I highly recommend this soup and I'll be sure to make it many times to come! Thanks a bunch Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Preparing for a ski trip with my family my brother said longingly 'Too bad we don't know how to make that wild rice soup' refering the the soup made by a woman we once knew (and can no longer ask). I had thought it was from 'joy of cooking' but it wasn't and decided to search for it. Finding this recipe. It was perfect. I ended up using canned wild rice, 2 cups worth because my own wild rice burned (use the directions on the bag for the wild rice) and I used an extra tablespoon of flour and only 4 cups of water. It froze wonderfully and even my extremely picky boyfriend loved it and father told me to 'make sure we keep that recipe'. I think next time I'll try substituting half & half for half of the milk, as I remember that that is how I'd been told it was made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarah
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This was really good. I modified it a little...used 1/2 cup of wild rice, 3.5 cups of vegetable broth (you absolutely need more than 1 cup of liquid or your rice will burn), 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms, 1 cup chopped carrots, 1 Tbs. garlic, 1/8 teaspoon ground thyme, and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. I didn't add the 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the cooking rice because there was enough sodium in the broth. Instead of sauteing the vegetables in butter, I cooked them over low-med heat in a COVERED saucepan with a couple tablespoons of vegetable oil until tender. PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
YUM! I halved the celery & added shredded carrots. I also added about 4 tablespoons of flour, and a clove of minced garlic. Having never made a cream-based soup before, I realized that the soup ahd to almost-boil in order to thicken. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Bethel, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Too much salt!!! Eliminate the 2 teaspoons and it is wonderful. Also use 4 cups of condensed milk, one cup chicken stock -- adds great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States