Silky and Creamy Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Excellent soup, once I made a few changes. With just milk, it would be bland. I used 3/4 c wild rice, added chopped carrots, halved the milk and substituted chicken broth. Yummy! Oh- and because we had leftover Christmas ham, I diced some up (about 2 cups) and added it to the soup. It was delicious! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I liked the recipe. A little less peper maybe. Also I believe step number 2 should instruct people to use a pan to cook the vegetables seperately because the cooked rice isn't supposed to be added until the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I like to add corn also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSPENCER1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Very, very good! I am always looking for a good soup or chowder recipe, and this one always pleases. I substituted a bit of cream in place of milk to make it a touch creamier. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This was just ok for me. My husband said it deserves a 4 but I think I have to say 3. It didn't taste bad; it was just kind of boring. The flavor of the milk completely overpowered everything else. I love cream soups and I LOVE wild rice but I couldn't even really taste the flavor of the rice because the milk took over everything. I added carrots, garlic and mushrooms to the veggies at the beginning. If I were to make this again, I would replace half the milk with vegetable broth to cut the milk taste and add some flavor. Also agree that the salt quantity is too high-i did reduce that. As a side note, the leftover soup thickened up considerably and created kind of a creamy veggie rice-nice base/side for our leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very disappointing, bland. Tasted like milk with some celery and rice in it. My family would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was really simple and yummy. I added sauteed mushrooms and some garlic to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This soup is excellent. I cooked some carrots along with the onions and celery, and added some cut-up cooked chicken with the wild rice near the end of cooking. My kids love this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States