Side of the Trail Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These cookies are the bomb! So versatile! I used 1 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup splenda and I used 1 cup unbleached flour and 1 cup wheat flour. They turned out great! Definitely a keeper! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Coloma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Yummy cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Very nice cookie! I only had 1 cup of peanut butter left, but I actually think that's enough. I also only used 2 cups of oats, and again, plenty for me. I used 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips and I really liked how all the flavors mixed together. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
My kids (7 and 4) loved these as after school snacks -- and the oatmeal made them substantial enough to fill them up. Even my husband, who isn't fond of peanut butter OR oatmeal, kept going back for more. I did add a few extra chocolate chips, and used a glass dipped in white sugar for flattening. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Mmmmm, mmmm. Tasty and hearty. Finally got around to making these and my family loved them. I did add a cup of coconut, but followed recipe other than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
These were very yummy. I used half chocolate chips and half butterscotch chips because it was what I had on hand. Made them for a camping trip and it will be hard to make them last until we leave for the campground!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendive, Montana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
This is another recipe that I would give a 10 to. What a good job this GS troop did! I myself am a GS leader in PA and was very eager to try these. I am so happy I did and so is my family. I think they have such a wonderful taste and using shortening instead of butter makes these cookies lighter tasting which is a good thing. I will be sharing this recipe with my girls! Thank you Troop 301~ I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Yummy. These do have a tendency to break right out of the oven, so be careful removing them from the cookie sheet and set them on an even surface to cool. Once they cool for several minutes, they seem plenty moist and hold together fine. I made mine a little bigger (larger Pampered Chef cookie scoop size), so I just baked them for about 15 minutes, until just dry on the top and lightly browned on the bottom. I used 1 cup butter & 1/2 cup "no trans fat" Crisco, old fashioned oats and substituted 8 oz chopped dates for 1 cup of chocolate chips. Quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
These were really yummy & weighed very little, making them perfect for hikes & hard to resist any other time! The biggest change I made was baking them in a tray for 25 mins before cutting them into bars, rather than using the mix to make drop cookies. However, I also used margerine instead of shortening, reduced the sugar slightly, didn't bother with the vanilla or salt & used some raisins & linseed as well as almost the full amount of choc chips. These had a nice nutty flavour without being overpowering. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
These were great! My changes: Used 1 stick of butter and 1 cup of butter flavored crisco; used 1 cup of white sugar + the 1 cup of brown sugar; used 1 cup of craisins + 1 cup of chocolate chips. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter, oats, and chocolate chips create an outrageous treat.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States