Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
i love pasta and i love anchovies, and adding garlic to the mix makes this a very tasty,enjoyable,and did i mention quick, recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious. I love the salty anchovies, so I would use less noodles (or double the "sauce") so that the spaghetti had more of a coating. I used panko and liked the crunch it added to the texture. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very easy, excellent for emergency when something needed ASAP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Tried this for dinner tonight, and I was really disappointed with it... I hate to give bad reviews when people are sharing their special recipes, but yuck. Very difficult to get the bread crumb mixture to cover the pasta, and when I added a touch more liquid it turned to even more of a gluey mass... My husband actually refused to finish this, a first... and asked that I not make it again. I might try to fix the leftovers with some drained diced tomatoes to add some flavor, as this was bland and salty. Really bummed me out, cause I love anchovies and pasta, and was looking for something that wasn't a thick heavy tomato sauce. I'll have to keep looking, as this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
maybe I dont like anchovies after all? This was not good to me. Will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
My family of picky eaters loved this!! I served it as a meal...not just an appetizer as some did. My picky children and bf loved it! Didn't even tell them about the anchovies until dinner was over!! Added extra oil right after tossing with linguine-delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
We didn't change a thing when we made this. Don't think of it as a sauce. It's more like super-breadcrumbs that get mixed in with dry pasta. It is a different flavor, but fabulous. Also really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I wasn't sure the kids would like this type of pasta but they loved it! I made it exactly the way the recipe stated. In the end I would recommend adding about 1/4 cup more oil to the pan. And right before tossing everything together about 1/4 stick of butter to the noodles to help stick the sauce to the noodles. Remember don't rinse the pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlpinter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! I made this with the other reviews in mind, it is a dry pasta. I didn't mind that at all. Not at all fishy, can barely tell there is anchovy in it, in fact I will probably add even more anchovy next time. (You do not have to even like anchovy to enjoy this taste!) Six year old daughter loved it! I followed recipe exactly except that I used panko bread crumbs (the japanese breadcrumbs) and it tasted super. I told my husband to taste it, he kept asking me what was in it, I told him to taste it first. He said it was so good. I told him about the anchovy, he didn't believe me! Wonderful blend of flavors. I will add a squeeze of lemon next time as reccomended by the reviewer before me. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is just a tip: I've seen a version of this recipe in one of the River Cafe cookbooks, and they add the juice & zest of 2 small lemons (I use only 1), and also add crushed red chile peppers into the oil at first. This makes it more "saucy" and is a great counterbalance to the oil and anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States