Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Thank you for posting this, we have been trying to find this recipe everywhere!This has been in our family for generations! However we do have a couple of additions we throw in. We have always add chopped hazelnuts, both for texture and flavor, as well as chopped green olives with the pimento. (I myself do NOT like olives, but without the olives it doesnt taste the same! -so I pick them out of mine after preparing ;) Very easy to make, and I know keep olives and anchovies on hand for those days you just can't think what to make. Always a HIT in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrydrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oaklyn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but a bit of a surprise if you are not used to a dry-type pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Further to my review and comments above... the anchovy/garlic/oil is not so much poured as drizzled over the pasta and then tossed, rather like a salad, to enrobe the pasta. For this purpose the anchovies should either be fully blended into the oil/garlic-- as a kind of sauce-- or in such small pieces they will adhere to the pasta and not settle to the bottom. Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Delish! I used Ronzoni Healthy Harvest linguine, which is 13.25 oz., doubled the olive oil and added about a cup of the pasta water. Perfect! The leftovers were even good when reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I tried this despite having our own version from my sicilian nonna. We use 1/2 c butter, 1/4 c evoo, no anchovies, no breadcrumbs and 2 heads of garlic peeled and sliced. saute the garlic, add 1 container of sliced mushrooms, after that cooks down, add to the pasta along with a pinch of red pepper flakes, s & p to taste and one ladel full of pasta water. Mix again then add 1 c. parmesan and mix one last time. This is peasant food and very delicious. Make sure you eat it all because it does not reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lombardo Durham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This recipe was really good. I liked how easily and quickly this came together. I was a little concerned with how the anchovies would taste, but they were not overpowering at all. My husband thought it was a little dry, but I didn't mind that. He is just used to pasta in sauce rather than bread crumbs and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgette Cutler Burbank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
YUM !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We loved this. I used Italian bread crumbs and our dinky town had no anchovies so I used about 1 inch of anchovy paste to serve 4 people. I did use about half the amount of bread crumbs the recipe called for and more olive oil based on previous reviewer suggestions. I cooked sliced chicken Italian sauages,red peppers and sugar snap peas on the side and mixed in with the pasta and topped with cheese. Even my picky eaters liked this. I serve some variation of chicken/veggie/pasta dish about once a week bc its one main dish and a way to get veggies in my kids so finding another way to have pasta was a real treat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
LOVED THIS! It was super easy and quick. I didn't add the anchovy's because I wanted my 2yr old son to eat it. And I forgot to add the bread crumbs. I added just a little butter to it, and it was so good. Loved it and defiantly going to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Yum! Now one of our favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States