Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
My kids and wife looove this recipe. It's VERY easy and quick to make also. Definite 5 star in my recipe book. I leave out the anchovies though as we're not fans of it. Any other recommendations to add to this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe Combs
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
great flavor. ...thought it was just a little dry gonna add a little more olive oil next time....would definitely make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I made this for a second time and doubled the anchovies and the garlic used medium shells and red pepper flake in place of black pepper turned out excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Add olives. Perfect. Merry Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is my "go to" comfort food; after a long day at work nothing's better and few things are cheaper. The anchovies are critical, but otherwise it is a pretty substitution friendly recipe. A couple of times I've had fresh spinach, so I've tossed it in there instead of parsley. Romano cheese works just as well as Parm. and my rule of cheese is Some is good; more is better. My mom makes this with a mix of about 1/3 butter to 2/3 olive oil. I made it in college ALOT and once used only butter. Blech. Back to olive oil! I use a bit more than this recipe calls for, since I like it not so dry. I also use the oil the anchovies are packed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I cut the servings in half. Only had one clove of garlic; used the 2 ounce can of anchovy. Served over angel hair pasta; and it turned out great. As noted by several reviewers, this is NOT a saucy dish... it is suppose to be rather dry. So if you are looking for something to clean your plate with garlic bread.... this is not it. This was a wonderful change of pace and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting, DIGGER2640 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
As written, I would say this is only a 3 star, but with modifications could be a 5 star. The "sauce" to pasta ratio is off. We doubled the sauce while keeping the original bread crumb amount (which brought it to a 4 star), next time I think I would triple the sauce. Yes, I know this is supposed to be a dry pasta, but as written none of the wonderful flavors come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Okay. Kind of dull as is. Fine for a side dish but monotonous as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great! My husband REALLY liked it. I told him next time I was going to put a tiny bit of crushed red pepper in. He said no way. I will put more garlic in next time. I can never have too much garlic. -yum- Did have to put an extra tablespoon or two of olive oil in. I know this is a "dry pasta" and that's what makes it fantastic, but without that extra tablespoon or two of o.o. it would be near impossible to toss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good, different kind of pasta dish. Though be warned, if you don't like the strong flavor of anchovies you may not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States