Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This is my "go to" comfort food; after a long day at work nothing's better and few things are cheaper. The anchovies are critical, but otherwise it is a pretty substitution friendly recipe. A couple of times I've had fresh spinach, so I've tossed it in there instead of parsley. Romano cheese works just as well as Parm. and my rule of cheese is Some is good; more is better. My mom makes this with a mix of about 1/3 butter to 2/3 olive oil. I made it in college ALOT and once used only butter. Blech. Back to olive oil! I use a bit more than this recipe calls for, since I like it not so dry. I also use the oil the anchovies are packed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I cut the servings in half. Only had one clove of garlic; used the 2 ounce can of anchovy. Served over angel hair pasta; and it turned out great. As noted by several reviewers, this is NOT a saucy dish... it is suppose to be rather dry. So if you are looking for something to clean your plate with garlic bread.... this is not it. This was a wonderful change of pace and enjoyed by all. Thanks for posting, DIGGER2640 !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
As written, I would say this is only a 3 star, but with modifications could be a 5 star. The "sauce" to pasta ratio is off. We doubled the sauce while keeping the original bread crumb amount (which brought it to a 4 star), next time I think I would triple the sauce. Yes, I know this is supposed to be a dry pasta, but as written none of the wonderful flavors come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Okay. Kind of dull as is. Fine for a side dish but monotonous as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Great! My husband REALLY liked it. I told him next time I was going to put a tiny bit of crushed red pepper in. He said no way. I will put more garlic in next time. I can never have too much garlic. -yum- Did have to put an extra tablespoon or two of olive oil in. I know this is a "dry pasta" and that's what makes it fantastic, but without that extra tablespoon or two of o.o. it would be near impossible to toss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good, different kind of pasta dish. Though be warned, if you don't like the strong flavor of anchovies you may not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Zita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Thank you for posting this, we have been trying to find this recipe everywhere!This has been in our family for generations! However we do have a couple of additions we throw in. We have always add chopped hazelnuts, both for texture and flavor, as well as chopped green olives with the pimento. (I myself do NOT like olives, but without the olives it doesnt taste the same! -so I pick them out of mine after preparing ;) Very easy to make, and I know keep olives and anchovies on hand for those days you just can't think what to make. Always a HIT in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrydrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oaklyn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Wonderful flavor, but a bit of a surprise if you are not used to a dry-type pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Further to my review and comments above... the anchovy/garlic/oil is not so much poured as drizzled over the pasta and then tossed, rather like a salad, to enrobe the pasta. For this purpose the anchovies should either be fully blended into the oil/garlic-- as a kind of sauce-- or in such small pieces they will adhere to the pasta and not settle to the bottom. Buon appetito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Delish! I used Ronzoni Healthy Harvest linguine, which is 13.25 oz., doubled the olive oil and added about a cup of the pasta water. Perfect! The leftovers were even good when reheated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamalinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States