Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kikadee
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I've made this about a dozen times in the last few months, so it's about time I posted a review! Markypost was right: You won't be wiping up oodles of sauce with your garlic bread when you make this dish--it's just not THAT kind of pasta. I agree with other reviewers that you'll need to add some more olive oil than the recipe calls for, or else it will tend to be "dry." I throw in a few red chili pepper flakes with the anchovy and garlic saute, for a bit of zing. Not everyone will agree with me, but I prefer to use panko (Japanese) bread crumbs, because they're a bit coarser, and then I like to fry them in the hot oil for a minute before turning off the heat and adding the parsley. I enjoy the slight crunchy texture this adds to the final product. Parmesan might make this dish too salty for some folks, but I can't imagine pasta without it, and that's why a huge handful of fresh parsley is so important--it cuts right through the salt and sort of lightens up the overall flavour. This tastes strong, but not fishy, makes an excellent side dish, cheap and easy to prepare, be brave and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Delicious! I made this with the other reviews in mind, it is a dry pasta. I didn't mind that at all. Not at all fishy, can barely tell there is anchovy in it, in fact I will probably add even more anchovy next time. (You do not have to even like anchovy to enjoy this taste!) Six year old daughter loved it! I followed recipe exactly except that I used panko bread crumbs (the japanese breadcrumbs) and it tasted super. I told my husband to taste it, he kept asking me what was in it, I told him to taste it first. He said it was so good. I told him about the anchovy, he didn't believe me! Wonderful blend of flavors. I will add a squeeze of lemon next time as reccomended by the reviewer before me. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakermd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
AWESOME! Wow, this was great. My only suggestion is to cut the bread crumbs by 1/2---then again maybe I did not make enought noodles. LOVE IT! Thanks Simon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I love this!!! (It could use a sauce though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very nice, tastes just like home (I'm Italian) What alot people don't realize is that the pasta is SUPPOSED to be DRY! Italians don't always like thick soupy sauces all the timeThats the style of pasta it is. I usually add a squeeze of lemon for some zing and not so much parsely. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
My family really loved this recipe. A definite keeper. I can see this being a good base to then add sundried tomatoes, olives and any kind of meat or chicken. DH doesn't even know yet there are anchovies in this dish! I wasn't going to tell him! Why spoil a good thing? So tasty and good for you! We made it with penne pasta. That's Italian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My mom is Italian and makes this same recipe every Christmas Eve. I agree totally with GuineaPigGirl: Italians do not use a tomato-based sauce with every pasta dish. This dish should be pleasantly oily with a light, anchovie flavor mixed with the buttery, garlicky breadcrumbs. The only difference in how my mom makes it and this recipe is that she uses linguine instead of spaghetti. Small point, I know, but the ingredients seem to cling better to the linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Variation: Remove olive oil and cover with browned butter and crumbled feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is just a tip: I've seen a version of this recipe in one of the River Cafe cookbooks, and they add the juice & zest of 2 small lemons (I use only 1), and also add crushed red chile peppers into the oil at first. This makes it more "saucy" and is a great counterbalance to the oil and anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I wasn't sure the kids would like this type of pasta but they loved it! I made it exactly the way the recipe stated. In the end I would recommend adding about 1/4 cup more oil to the pan. And right before tossing everything together about 1/4 stick of butter to the noodles to help stick the sauce to the noodles. Remember don't rinse the pasta. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlpinter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States