Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kikadee
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I've made this about a dozen times in the last few months, so it's about time I posted a review! Markypost was right: You won't be wiping up oodles of sauce with your garlic bread when you make this dish--it's just not THAT kind of pasta. I agree with other reviewers that you'll need to add some more olive oil than the recipe calls for, or else it will tend to be "dry." I throw in a few red chili pepper flakes with the anchovy and garlic saute, for a bit of zing. Not everyone will agree with me, but I prefer to use panko (Japanese) bread crumbs, because they're a bit coarser, and then I like to fry them in the hot oil for a minute before turning off the heat and adding the parsley. I enjoy the slight crunchy texture this adds to the final product. Parmesan might make this dish too salty for some folks, but I can't imagine pasta without it, and that's why a huge handful of fresh parsley is so important--it cuts right through the salt and sort of lightens up the overall flavour. This tastes strong, but not fishy, makes an excellent side dish, cheap and easy to prepare, be brave and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Very nice, tastes just like home (I'm Italian) What alot people don't realize is that the pasta is SUPPOSED to be DRY! Italians don't always like thick soupy sauces all the timeThats the style of pasta it is. I usually add a squeeze of lemon for some zing and not so much parsely. Bellisimo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuineaPigGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2005
I've made variations of this tasty dish before. The anchovies melt right into the garlic oil so there are no fish pieces left in the pasta. I suggest using WAY more garlic in the sauce and adding cilantro rather than parsley in the end. Also, I marinate and then saute some shrimp in lime, garlic, red pepper, and olive oil to add to the dish. Just a suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
My mom is Italian and makes this same recipe every Christmas Eve. I agree totally with GuineaPigGirl: Italians do not use a tomato-based sauce with every pasta dish. This dish should be pleasantly oily with a light, anchovie flavor mixed with the buttery, garlicky breadcrumbs. The only difference in how my mom makes it and this recipe is that she uses linguine instead of spaghetti. Small point, I know, but the ingredients seem to cling better to the linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This is just a tip: I've seen a version of this recipe in one of the River Cafe cookbooks, and they add the juice & zest of 2 small lemons (I use only 1), and also add crushed red chile peppers into the oil at first. This makes it more "saucy" and is a great counterbalance to the oil and anchovies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I can't believe I never reviewed this--it's one of my go-to quick dinners. It's a delicious, savory, simple dish. I brown the breadcrumbs in olive oil and set them aside; then I warm the anchovies and garlic and some red pepper flakes in olive oil. I save about a half cup of the pasta-cooking water and add that to the anchovy mixture, toss that with the pasta, then mix in the breadcrumbs and top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was very good. If you are looking for pasta with a wet sauce, this isn't the recipe for you. With this recipe you get bread crumbs that absorb the anchovies and garlic flavors which in turn coat the spaghetti. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Albany, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I thought this was very tasty and made for a quick and easy side dish! I used my mini-processor to chop the garlic and anchovies (in oil with capers). I only did a 1/2 cup seasoned Italian bread crumbs and I used 2 Tbl. freeze dried basil instead of parsely. Super quick, easy and delicious! I used this as a side to my Tilapia Parmesan from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Made this recipe last night. The flavors were fantastic - but it was EXTREMELY dry. Once you add the bread crumbs there is no sauce left. It is basically flavored bread crumbs that you add to the cooked pasta. I recommend adding more olive oil and/or water from the boiled pasta into the breadcrumbs. Like someone else, I also added red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
We weren't crazy about this. I didn't end up with a sauce - even when I added more olive oil, it was just a sticky fishy blob that was hard to combine with the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States