Sicilian Spaghetti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I felt this was pretty dry. Next time I think I'll leave out the bread crumbs and use a little more oil or less pasta. Do you add the anchovy oil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I'm sorry but this was one of the worst pasta dishes I have ever made from this site. The amount of bread crumbs called for in the recipie far outweighed any of the other flavors. I couldn't even taste the anchovies which should tell you something. I will not make this recipie again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Ok - the breadcrumbs just don't cut it. For 2 people, I used less linguini but kept the rest of the portions the same. The flavor was fantastic (I LOVE anchovies). Next time I'll eliminate the breadcrumbs altogether and see what happens. The combo of parsley and cilantro was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Awesome!! What a wonderful change from the usual. enjoy long distance cycling and often ride 40-50 miles a day. Coming home and making this meal is simply the best. It is just right combination of carbs and flavor. Wonderful..I also made the roasted garlic broccoli to go with it. Fabulous combination..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have made this for Christmas Eve dinner for 43 years. This was part of the seven fishes dinner my father made on Christmas Eve for years before I took up the tradition. The only differences...no bread crumbs, more EVOO and we use Locatelli Romano. Friends who do not like anchovies eat seconds and thirds of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Were the anchovies drained before being chopped and the oil discarded? I found saving a 1/2 cup of the pasta water then using it to add to the sauce made the pasta less dry and did not dilute the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I can't believe I never reviewed this--it's one of my go-to quick dinners. It's a delicious, savory, simple dish. I brown the breadcrumbs in olive oil and set them aside; then I warm the anchovies and garlic and some red pepper flakes in olive oil. I save about a half cup of the pasta-cooking water and add that to the anchovy mixture, toss that with the pasta, then mix in the breadcrumbs and top with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My mother also makes this every year for our Christmas Eve dinner...an Italian tradition I suppose. It is fantastic and only in my adult years have I started making it year round to enjoy! I use a lot more olive oil (about twice as much per pound of pasta) no parsely and no bread. Just anchovies, garlic, olive oil, and lots of black pepper. My family calls it, no idea on how to spell it...sounds like: Ol-yew-eel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is very quick to make, and exceedingly tasty. The first time I made this, it was way too salty. I suggest you rinse the anchovies. (Maybe everybody knows to do this but me?) The second time, besides rinsing the anchovies, I used fettucine, added the suggested lemon juice, a splash of white wine and used Asiago cheese - my favorite. The dressing for the noodles is dry, but it is supposed to be. I liked my changes and will keep them and I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey Village, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I made this recipe with a little extra olive oil and a splash of lemon juice, and it was delicious! My husband and I both had seconds. I definitely think the lemon juice makes a huge difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States