Sicilian Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Very, very good! I made it exactly as written but added 1# of spicy italian sausage, doubled the fennel and halved the crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The ease of making this dish and the resultant flavours make for a great comfort food or cold winter day soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This recipe has an amazing flavor! Only suggestions I have are to add some mushrooms with the other veggies and I always add 4-5 extra cups of water 'cause the soup is VERY thick otherwise. Delicious! My husbands favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Was okay, but the sausages we found didn't quite match the taste of the dish. My husband also didn't care for the fennel seeds. We added at least 2 cups of extra water, to make enough soup after the pasta was added, or else there would be no more broth left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I accidentally used 1lb sausage and (intentionally) added a bunch of coarsley chopped kale at the end per another reviewer. I would have preferred some heat in this soup and will add spices next time (along with the kale and full lb of sausage). As written this is a 3 star for me, but I think soups are meant to be experimented with in a way some other dishes aren't (baked goods, for example). So after my modifications my family gave this 4 stars (5 if I pair it with homemade bread)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Loved this. Added fresh spinach, 1 can Canellini beans, garlic and about 1 tsp raw sugar. Also used 1 lb sweet italian sausage, instead of 1/2 lb. Great with crusty bread! Also good if you add tortellini instead of the ditallini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Delicious! I highly recommend this recipe. I made a few adjustments to fit my tastes/available ingredients: I used a package of maple ground sausage, used 1c pasta instead of 1/2c, and added about 2c water in the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkbliss

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I made this soup almost exactly as written, except I made a double batch, and I changed 4 things: 1) I added garlic after the onion softened 2) only used 28oz can of tomatoes for double batch 3) didn't add parsley (didn't have any) 4) added 14oz can kidney beans. This was super easy and super yummy! Everyone had seconds! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I cook. Alot. I love food, I love feeding people, and I love finding recipes. Most of the time I like to try something new, but this recipe I make more than any other. I only make three small changes. I add garlic, more meat, and I always at least double the recipe! I've made this for everyone I know. Don't miss this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This soup was really good. I'm not a huge sausage fan, but this wasn't overpowering at all. I made the recipe as written, but like others I thought it was too tomatoey so I added another 1 1/2 cups of broth and that fixed it. I also used 2/3 cup pasta instead of 1/2 cup just because I like more. Paired it with some crusty french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States