Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I am now gluten free. I simply substituted gluten free corn starch (no flour). I used 4 large eggs instead of 5 (as some reviewers suggested) or 6 (in recipe), and just 1/2 cup of white sugar (instead of 2/3 cup). The results were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Perfecto! I looked for the perfect recipe for many years, and ever since I found this recipe a couple of years ago, I have made it upon request for every Christmas and especially for my in laws birthdays. Don't change a thing, this is tried and true, good old fashioned sicilian (and sometimes Italian) cheesecake! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
i made my Italian Cheesecake into a Canolli Pie. Used dry amaretto cookies for the base, added chocolate chips in my filling, crushed some roasted pistachios to place along the sides, and topped each slice with a cherry. Plainning to play with the presentation a bit more before i think of entering a contest with it. The only downside was it took long to cook. Still playing to see if it was due to the extra ingredients or not. Overall, not a bad dessert, since i normally don’t eat cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DessertGirlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe was good but I have tasted better. I made this for my son as he requested a ricotta cheesecake. The recipe i regularly use is pretty labor intensive in comparison to this one so i figured i would save myself some effort and try this one. It was not terrible just not what we are used to. I think the lemon zest overpowers the flavor of the cheese. My son requested that I make my regular recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a horrible recipe. I was embarrassed when my guests tried this because everyone took one bite and left the rest. It is under-sweetened, has too much egg in it, making it very grainy, and it did not have enough flavor. Everyone who likes it and gives it 5 stars is changing the ingredients significantly -- so then you DON'T like the recipe, don't give it a high rating if you have to overhaul the whole thing. I made another ricotta cheesecake that was part ricotta and part cream cheese. It also called for lemon juice, only 4 eggs, and more sugar. It was delicious just like our favorite one from an Italian restaurant. Search for a recipe that combines ricotta with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Cohen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did make some changes, but only because of personal taste. I didn't add the cinnamon and I used lemon zest instead of the orange. I skipped the vanilla and used limoncello instead. All in all a good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Light, not too sweet but flavorful. I made it pretty much as written - the only thing I changed was that I strained whole milk ricotta through cheesecloth to get some liquid out of it, and omitted the vanilla and added a couple tablespoons of Cointreau. I think I would add another tablespoon - the flavor is there but it could be a little less subtle. It's delicious though - definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used this recipe to bake my very first ricotta cheesecake and it was excellent - and soooo easy!!! Ive grown up on the finest ricotta cheesecakes from award winning italian bakeries and homemade versions from old world italian grandmoms so I knew what I would be comparing this recipe to. I dusted the top of mine with cinnamon after it was chilled which was the finishing touch. I read comments below about draining the ricotta beforehand and a variation to include amaretto which I may try next time just to see how it turns out but this recipe is delicious and needs no tweeking...its as good as it gets on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Not too sweet, lovely texture. Nice and dense. I used 1 1/2 tsp orange zest and 1 1/2 tsp of lemon zest. I did try 3 tsp of amaretto, but think I will less or none next time; the citrus flavor would definitely be enough. Yes, please drain the ricotta (then one can use 6 eggs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I made this recipe on more then 1 occasion. Easy to make and taste is great. My boyfriend and his family are hardcore Italian and they enjoyed every bit of the cake. I didn't modify in anyway except for the crust and added cherry topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States