Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
An amazingly easy cake with a delicious flavor and smooth, dense texture! Required NO prep time, and is so simple a child could make. The best cheesecake I've ever made! Since I only had extra large eggs, I used only five, instead of the 6 the recipe calls for. I accidently cooked it too long but it didn't matter, just a little browner top. Next time I'm going to try cooking it at a lower temp. and increasing the cooking time a bit. (I heard this was a good way to increase creaminess and avoid a browned top). The best part? I didn't have to wash a bunch of dishes after! The recipe requires only 1 bowl, a rubber spatula, and grater for the orange zest. I need more recipes like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
My uncle use to made a ricotta cheesecake that I loved but I never got the recipe from him. I thought I would give this a try. I did leave out the orange zest, cinnamon and reduced the vanilla. I then substituted approx. 3 tsp of Amaretto and it tasted just like my uncles recipe. It did take a littele longer to bake than stated but it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This recipe was the easiest Ricotta Cheesecake recipe I've seen, it was also extremely tasty!! My mom would have LOVED tried a piece of this. I will definitely try making this one again (next time I will substitute fat-free ricotta and see how it turns out for a low-fat alternative).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I love this recipe! I made it for my husband's birthday and it was a huge success. I omitted the cinnamon based on the other reviews and used lemon instead of orange. It could have been a lot more lemony, so I think next time I will add lemon extract and another lemon's worth of zest, too. So light and delicious! Our new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2001
This is WONDERFUL !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
I loved this cake! I made it for my choosiest dinner guests, and they loved it too! I had another recipie from my cousin, but this was much easier, and tasted great. I have already recommended it to my entire office! Robin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
Excellent!!! Impressed my Sicilian boyfriend on his birthday with this DELICIOUS cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Made this cheesecake with 2 15 oz tubs of ricotta, substitued the 2 tsp of orange rind with 1 tbsp of lemon rind and eliminated the cinnamon. I also decreased the flour by 1 tbsp, substituted the sugar with 16 packets of Sweet and Low and used 5 extra large eggs instead of 6 regular eggs. In a preheated oven, I baked it for 5 minutes less than called for. It was perfect! No sinking in the middle and beautifully browned around the edges. Wonderful served with a strawberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT,THIS IS THE BEST ONE I HAVE TASTED AND THE CLOSEST TO THE ONE, YOU BUY IN THE STORE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Very easy to make and taste great. My husband is diabetic so I used Splenda. Also omitted the orange zest as other reviewers had suggested. It is definately a desert to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barnesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States