Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
After some modifications this is a 5-star recipe. (1) Use whole milk ricotta cheese, drained (To drain ricotta cheese, wrap in a double layer of cheesecloth. Place in a colander and weigh down with a few cans. Allow to drain over a bowl in the refrigerator for 1 hour.); (2) Replace the the cinnamon, orange zest, vanilla extract and salt and add 1/3 cup of amaretto; (3) Use only 5 eggs; and, (4) I used a hand mixer instead of a spatula (much smoother!) Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
PLEASE DON'T TAKE OUT THE ORANGE ZEST IN THIS RECIPE. I am first generation Bronx Italian and when I made this it tasted just like an authentic Italian cheesecake. True Italian cheesecakes have orange and lemon flavor to them. The only changes I made were as follows: I use 1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and added 1 teaspoon lemon zest and 3 teaspoons of amaretto. I had to cook mine 1 and 3/4 hours. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is a great recipe. As mentionned by others, lemons are better than oranges, 5 in stead of 6 eggs and watch not to overcook, 75min is good. The secret is the ricotta, avoid the cheap stuff for the best consistancy (I use Stelle brand). I'm not much of a cook and this cake ALWAYS works. To decorate, use marmelade as a light glaze and top with strands of orange or lemon peel. (The cake is already nice and golden...) Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
My uncle use to made a ricotta cheesecake that I loved but I never got the recipe from him. I thought I would give this a try. I did leave out the orange zest, cinnamon and reduced the vanilla. I then substituted approx. 3 tsp of Amaretto and it tasted just like my uncles recipe. It did take a littele longer to bake than stated but it was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
An amazingly easy cake with a delicious flavor and smooth, dense texture! Required NO prep time, and is so simple a child could make. The best cheesecake I've ever made! Since I only had extra large eggs, I used only five, instead of the 6 the recipe calls for. I accidently cooked it too long but it didn't matter, just a little browner top. Next time I'm going to try cooking it at a lower temp. and increasing the cooking time a bit. (I heard this was a good way to increase creaminess and avoid a browned top). The best part? I didn't have to wash a bunch of dishes after! The recipe requires only 1 bowl, a rubber spatula, and grater for the orange zest. I need more recipes like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Really good and easy. It isn't as creamy as a cream cheese cake because it's NOT! I used lemon zest instead of orange zest also. It took almost 2 hours to bake but rose nicely. I would strongly recommend a marmalade glaze. Take about 2/3 c. of good marmalade and 2 tsp. lemon juice and boil for a couple of minutes. Pour warm glaze over cooled cake and chill. Beautiful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Nix the Cinnamon, orange zest and salt and add 1/3 cup of Amaretto. I use DiSoronno. It will need to cook about 10 to 15 minutes longer. This is how real Italian cheesecake is made! Bona Petit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This recipe was truly awful. I'd give it zero stars if I could. I made it for Thanksgiving and not one person liked it. It was fairly bland and I even added some good pure orange extract along with the zest. The texture was the big turn off. It was very grainy, very unappetizing. I have worked as a product developer in the food industry for many years, I am a trained food taster, and a lover of all foods ethnic and otherwise, and I could not find anything to like about this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I enjoyed this so much! It's just like grandma's! I used 1 tsp orange zest and 1 tsp lemon zest and it was wonderful. Mine took about 1 3/4 hours, though. I was ready to take a picture for the review, but it was almost all gone!! I'll take it when I make the next one tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
I've never had a Ricotta Cheesecake until now; the taste and texture are very different from traditional cheesecake, but it's quite tasty nonetheless (texture is cake-y and taste is sort of custard-y). I topped mine with chocolate sour cream and strawberries, which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States