Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This is a 'jewel' for your recipe box. Easy to make, no fuss, no mess....Hint large eggs are the norm in recipes if you have extra or jumbo then use one less egg...be sure to use whole milk ricotta to have texture...almost like a flan..not the typical 'heavy'texture of a juniors style cheese cake. Leave it to the Sicilians to provide the perfect dessert after a BIG Italian meal. Don't forget to make expresso and serve this cake with fresh berries in season and home made whipped cream...YUMMY thanx for the recipe...not bad on the waisline either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
After some modifications this is a 5-star recipe. (1) Use whole milk ricotta cheese, drained (To drain ricotta cheese, wrap in a double layer of cheesecloth. Place in a colander and weigh down with a few cans. Allow to drain over a bowl in the refrigerator for 1 hour.); (2) Replace the the cinnamon, orange zest, vanilla extract and salt and add 1/3 cup of amaretto; (3) Use only 5 eggs; and, (4) I used a hand mixer instead of a spatula (much smoother!) Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Sorry, this was too bland for our taste, even with the suggested Marmalade topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Really good and easy. It isn't as creamy as a cream cheese cake because it's NOT! I used lemon zest instead of orange zest also. It took almost 2 hours to bake but rose nicely. I would strongly recommend a marmalade glaze. Take about 2/3 c. of good marmalade and 2 tsp. lemon juice and boil for a couple of minutes. Pour warm glaze over cooled cake and chill. Beautiful and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Nix the Cinnamon, orange zest and salt and add 1/3 cup of Amaretto. I use DiSoronno. It will need to cook about 10 to 15 minutes longer. This is how real Italian cheesecake is made! Bona Petit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This recipe was truly awful. I'd give it zero stars if I could. I made it for Thanksgiving and not one person liked it. It was fairly bland and I even added some good pure orange extract along with the zest. The texture was the big turn off. It was very grainy, very unappetizing. I have worked as a product developer in the food industry for many years, I am a trained food taster, and a lover of all foods ethnic and otherwise, and I could not find anything to like about this cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This is a great recipe for a light cheesecake. It's not heavey at all. I did make a strawberry sauce to over a slice. Even my ten month daughter enjoyed it (without the sauce of course). Buy frozen strawberries, food process them until smooth and then boil them for 10 minutes, whiling bowling add powedered sugar to taste. of course you can also make a chocolate saucefor this but we prefered the fruity one. I mixed chocolate and strawberry sauces together and that was pretty good. Also, I put one teaspoon vanilla extract and one teaspoon orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
i have to agree with another reviewer that the cake was a little bland. Next time i will add raisins and double the zest,even add lemon zest.I liked that it waasn't too sweet(i took a reviewer's suggestion to cut the sugar a bit). it's a good starting point recipe to experiment with,but on it's own...it needs a little something for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This recipe is just like my Grandma's and It's Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This recipe is almost exact to my grandmothers! It is terrific and it is also a big hit at family functions. I was so excited to find this recipe. It is super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States