Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderful and light. I used 1 tbsp lemon zest and 1 cup blueberries. Omitted the vanilla.Came out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
The easiest cheesecake I ever made, and one of the best! I used only 5 eggs, substituted the orange zest, cinnamon and salt with lemon extract (1 teaspoon), kept the vanilla, and added 1/3 cup of good Austrian rum. You may use any kind of rum, however, the Austrian kind (made from molasses, not sugar cane) is just my own favorite. I like the lighter texture and the more refreshing taste of ricotta cheese better than that of cream cheese, which I personally consider much too rich and heavy. Update: I also found the following spices very good: 1 teaspoon lemon extract 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 1 tablespoon rum or 1 teaspoon rum extract 1/2 teaspoon almond extract omit salt, orange zest and cinnamon from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vestalia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very easy and quick. It has a grittier texture than a cream cheese based cake, but it's much lighter. It stores well in the fridge for days also. I added the amaretto as suggested. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Very good! easy and light. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This was truly delicious--light, not too sweet. Following one suggestion here I used an electric beater to smooth the cheese mixture. I added an orange marmalade glaze, a nice taste contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
After looking at all of the updates from others, I combined them into one version - 2 lbs ricotta, 2/3 c white sugar, 1/3 c flour, 5 eggs, 1.5 tsp orange zest, 1 tsp lemon zest, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/8 tsp salt, 3 tsp Amaretto. I had always loved Ricotta Cheesecakes in restaurants and this one is just as good! I served it at Easter with some strawberry sauce (Strawberry jam heated with a little rum and then cooled) and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I followed the suggestion for substituting the amaretto for the cinn and zest. I drained the ricotta for two days prior to baking. The cake was easy to prepare, cooking time was 1 hour 40 mins. However I prepared it and served it within a 6 hour time frame and it was not well received. "Too bland" was the comment :( This morninghowever, after sitting in the refridgerator over night, it is bursting with flavor! I give this a five star rating but advise....prepare ahead and refridgerate over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
PLEASE DON'T TAKE OUT THE ORANGE ZEST IN THIS RECIPE. I am first generation Bronx Italian and when I made this it tasted just like an authentic Italian cheesecake. True Italian cheesecakes have orange and lemon flavor to them. The only changes I made were as follows: I use 1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and added 1 teaspoon lemon zest and 3 teaspoons of amaretto. I had to cook mine 1 and 3/4 hours. It came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very good. I added a little orange liquer which I think worked nice. Next time I won't bake it as long as I did this time 1 1/2 hour. I think it would have been best at 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
My husband loves the Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake, so I tried many recipes before I found this one. I did made the modifications that a previous reviewer suggested. I drained the ricotta cheese, replace the cinnamon, orange zest, vanilla extract and salt with 1/3 cup of amaretto, I used only 5 eggs and used a hand mixer. It turned out perfect! so smooth and with a delicate flavor, my husband's comment was "I can't get enough of it" ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States