Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I've had a special place in my heart for southern Italian cooking ever since I spent the summer after my junior year in high school in Caltanissetta, Sicilia as one of Rochester, NY's first two Sister City exchange students to Caltanissetta, and then spent another summer there two years later. In any event, I just made my first ricotta cake following this recipe, except that since I didn't happen to have oranges, lemons, or amaretto on hand, I substituted 1/2 tsp key lime zest, 1 1/2 tsp orange marmalade, and 2 tsp Citronge liquor (both the marmalade and Citronge are slightly bitter). While the flavor therefore couldn't have been exactly the same as that of the original recipe, it turned out great! Those who have never made a ricotta cake before may be disappointed by its texture, since the ricotta cake has a much more cake-like texture. On the other hand, the mildly custard-like flavor of this cake isn't likely to be annoying, since this isn't very pronounced. All in all, a delicious cake (and very easy to make)! - hatlessacorn 6/30/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
A ricotta cheesecake is NOT anything like a New York style cheesecake. If you're expecting something sweet and gooey and creamy, you WILL be disappointed. However, this is a fine dessert in its own right. It is lightly sweet, dense, and retains a slightly grainy ricotta texture. It is lovely with fresh raspberries and lemon curd. But don't make this recipe expecting it to be like something off the Philadelphia Cream Cheese box and then give it one star when it's not. This is not an Americanized Cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This was was grainy and it was not even overcooked! The flavor would have been fairly fine except the texture was bad. If you choose to make this, choose a specialty ricotta full fat cheese and (NOT regular grocery store) and blend it with a mixer. A spatula really isn't going to get the little chunks out. Either way I will NEVER make this again! I like ricotta, but this was not edible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Excellent and easy recipe. Following everyone's suggestions, I reduced by 1 egg and substituted vanilla & salt for 3 TB amaretto. Kept the cinnamon in. Consistency and taste was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Followed receipe to a t, with the exception of the eggs. Used 5 instead. Ended up more custardy, eggy than creamy cheesy which was what i was expecting. baked nicely, but will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Not too heavy or sweet. Used lemon zest instead of orange. Used Part Skim ricotta and did not drain liquid from ricotta. This is almost as good as my Italian mom's cake. Got compliments from my guests. Thanks Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Bland and no flavor. I even allowed the cheesecake to sit for a day in the fridge. The flavors never came through. I've had fabulous Ricotta cheesecake, and this didn't even compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
After reading all the reviews I decided to try this recipe with just one small change, using a teaspoon each of orange and lemon zest. Oh, and the ricotta cheese I had on hand was low-fat. I must say I was surprised by the results. With the cinnamon, vanilla, and coarser ricotta texture, it reminded me more of a dense rice pudding or bread pudding than cheesecake. I liked it, though! I served it to guests with the question, "What does it need for a topping?" and someone made the excellent suggestion of drizzling just a little melted white chocolate and a spoonful of whole cranberry sauce over each piece. Mmmmm, that sounds really yummy -- or better yet, lingonberries! Anyway, I know I'll enjoy making this cheesecake and continuing to experiment with possible toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am Sicilian born and have been looking for a good ricotta cake recipe. I made some major changes -adding a shell of shortcrust pastry and mascarpone topping. I made this cake for a group of choosy Italians and they loved it. My changes: a) Never bake and serve the same day. Must bake overnight and chill well before serving next day. b) Line cake tin with dessert shortcrust pastry (bottom and sides). Bake blind for 10 min then add ricotta mixture. Bake for 1 hr or until firm/golden. c) Use great quality ricotta and sieve first before adding ingredients. d) To ricotta mixture: Add rind of 1 lemon, 3-4tablespoons amaretto, ¼ tsp almond essence, 1.5 tsp vanilla essence, grated chocolate (to taste), 75 g crushed roasted hazelnuts. I separated the egg yolks which I mixed with the sugar, essences and lemon/orange grind and folded into the ricotta. Next time I will add a little more caster sugar as the mixture can be a little low on sweetness. Whip egg whites and fold into ricotta. Once baked. Leave overnight in fridge. Next day coat with mascarpone topping.F) MASCARPONE TOPPING: Beat 250g mascarpone ( or 400g depending on size of cake) until smooth and add caster sugar to taste, vanilla essence, grated chocolate , 2 tablespoons Tia maria, lemon grind. Mix well. Coat cake top with mascarpone mixture. Grate some chocolate and sprinkle on top. Sprinkle more crushed hazelnuts for decoration. Chill well before serving until mascarpone is set (at least another 3 hours).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wonderful and light. I used 1 tbsp lemon zest and 1 cup blueberries. Omitted the vanilla.Came out great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States