Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Soooo very very rich and creamy. I has to be the easiest dessert I have ever made. Foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This cake is sooo easy to make and pretty yummy too just as long as you don't think this cake will be like a new york cheesecake. I followed some of the other tips and added two tablespoons of amaretto, I didn't have an orange in the house for fresh rind so I used orange extract and fresh lemon rind. I really feel like you need to have the lemon and orange flavor. I like the fact that it was pretty much a one bowl recipe. Easy clean up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Very easy with great results. I suggest measuring the cinnamon, and zest generously. Also a mix of lemon and orange zest worked well. Quality of your cheese matters, I used Biazzo ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I was short on ricotta so I substituted 1/2 cottage cheese which I had blended in the food processor, but I followed the recipe other than that but with 5 eggs and with the addition of 1 tspn of lemon zest. The cheesecake was good but I was a bit disappointed since I was trying to recreate a ricotta cheesecake I had just in a restaurant the night before, which seemed richer and slightly sweeter, but I probably should reserve full judgement until I make the recipe as printed (yes I hate to be one of those people!) I have to think that it could do with perhaps 2 or 3 tbspn more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
For those that don't really like super sweet deserts, this is great. It is definately not traditional New York cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Don't change a thing! If you squeeze out the water ...you should just make a regular cream cheese cheesecake to start with! I like the lemon zest sometimes and the orange others...it is the best cheesecake. I make ricotta cookies and decorate the top with pretty cut out cookies with christmas sprinkles or jimmies. We are a cheese cake loving family. My Mother and sister-in-law, we all make goat cheese cheese cakes, regular New York type, this one is tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was nice and light. I don't have a springform pan, so I made cupcakes (I halved the recipe and it filled 5 jumbo muffin tins). Baked at 350 for 45 minutes; cooked perfectly. Lovely taste and texture, though those who expect it to taste like a traditional cheesecake need to look elsewhere! This is a light, fluffy and a bit grainy due to the ricotta. Another tip: instead of mixing in a bowl, blend everything together in a food processor. I also used pam for baking instead of buttering and flouring the pans, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell Bell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
OK - my take on this one with slight modifications for those watching their calorie intake. I didn't have enough ricotta - so I "3/4" the recipe. Strange, but it worked. I used part skim (I know some advised not to, but I took the chance bcs I didn't have anything else and hubby wanted dessert) I did not take the time to drain it and it came out fine. I used GV's sugar blend to cut the sugar down. I didn't have orange but used lemon zest instead. I forgot the salt but didn't miss it, really. If you are looking for a cheesecake taste, you won't find it here. But for a light dessert that is not too sweet but satisfying, this is the dessert for you. I cooked it at 350 for an hour and 15 and it could have cooked for less time. The consistency was slightly grainy because I hand mashed it. (TV was on and I didn't want to use the blender.) But it didn't really distract from the over all experience. I thought it was good and was happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made this on Easter Sunday. I knew not to expect "Cheesecake." I really liked it. Not too sweet. Not too heavy. I sprinkled powdered sugar over the top and then a little extra when plated. Do not change a thing. Imagine cheesecake meets custard. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
so delicous!! i have the flavor of my grandmother's cheesecake in my memory, so my alterations were in an attempt to replicate hers. she always made this was a fresh pasta crust - sounds bizarre but it wouldn't be easter pie without it. use the basic pasta recipe from this site, roll out thinly, and lay in the pan like a pie crust dough. to this recipe i omitted the cinnamon, subbed anise extract for the vanilla extract, omitted the orange zest, and added one shot of rum. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States