Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Make sure you try this recipe with the orange zest and cinnamon. With the zest of an entire orange it gets 5 stars. I used 6 large eggs and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I guess i just dont like the taste the ricotta has, i wish it was made out of cream cheese instead. I'll stick w/ cream cheese from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This is a great recipe. As mentionned by others, lemons are better than oranges, 5 in stead of 6 eggs and watch not to overcook, 75min is good. The secret is the ricotta, avoid the cheap stuff for the best consistancy (I use Stelle brand). I'm not much of a cook and this cake ALWAYS works. To decorate, use marmelade as a light glaze and top with strands of orange or lemon peel. (The cake is already nice and golden...) Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Turned out alright but not great--tasted a little bland. I did use low fat ricotta though, so that may have been a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I love this recipe! I scaled it way back with only 250g of ricotta but I kept roughly the same amount of orange zest (smelled wonderful when I was grating it) and added a few spoonfuls of orange juice for extra kick and about a tsp of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I made this for easter and it was very good. I am not sure about the number of eggs. I read that some people have said here in the reviews to use only 5 eggs. I think I should have done that too, but it does not say what size eggs are to be used in the recipe. Any advise here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Practically perfect. I did add a few tablespoons of candied orange peel and only half a cup of sugar to make it more like my grandmother's cheesecake. Like a previous reviewer, I had to bake this for one hour 45 minutes. Serve with fresh fruit, it's the best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
I enjoyed this so much! It's just like grandma's! I used 1 tsp orange zest and 1 tsp lemon zest and it was wonderful. Mine took about 1 3/4 hours, though. I was ready to take a picture for the review, but it was almost all gone!! I'll take it when I make the next one tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
This is a delicious, easy recipe. My Sicilian father wolfed it down! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I made this recipe using ingredients appropriate for the South Beach Diet. This included: part-skim ricotta, liquid egg substitute, and sugar substitute (splenda). So sure enough it tasted like a "diet" cheesecake. I wasn't too impressed. Stick with the original recipe and cheat on your diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States