Sicilian Ricotta Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made the following changes. I added two Tbs Orange Bloosom water and two tablespoons each of orange and citron candied peel. I also used orange and lemon zest. I substituted mascarpone equally for 6 oz of ricotta. I used BelGioioso whole milk ricotta. I whisked the eggs quite a bit before adding to the ricotta mixture which I also blended quite well in a stand up mixer. At 300 degrees, it took almost 2 hours. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is a great recipe IF you drain the ricotta in a cheesecloth lined strainer for 6 hours first. Otherwise it has a damp texture that ruins the crust. I add more lemon zest, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I am now gluten free. I simply substituted gluten free corn starch (no flour). I used 4 large eggs instead of 5 (as some reviewers suggested) or 6 (in recipe), and just 1/2 cup of white sugar (instead of 2/3 cup). The results were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Perfecto! I looked for the perfect recipe for many years, and ever since I found this recipe a couple of years ago, I have made it upon request for every Christmas and especially for my in laws birthdays. Don't change a thing, this is tried and true, good old fashioned sicilian (and sometimes Italian) cheesecake! Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
i made my Italian Cheesecake into a Canolli Pie. Used dry amaretto cookies for the base, added chocolate chips in my filling, crushed some roasted pistachios to place along the sides, and topped each slice with a cherry. Plainning to play with the presentation a bit more before i think of entering a contest with it. The only downside was it took long to cook. Still playing to see if it was due to the extra ingredients or not. Overall, not a bad dessert, since i normally don’t eat cheesecakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DessertGirlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe was good but I have tasted better. I made this for my son as he requested a ricotta cheesecake. The recipe i regularly use is pretty labor intensive in comparison to this one so i figured i would save myself some effort and try this one. It was not terrible just not what we are used to. I think the lemon zest overpowers the flavor of the cheese. My son requested that I make my regular recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is a horrible recipe. I was embarrassed when my guests tried this because everyone took one bite and left the rest. It is under-sweetened, has too much egg in it, making it very grainy, and it did not have enough flavor. Everyone who likes it and gives it 5 stars is changing the ingredients significantly -- so then you DON'T like the recipe, don't give it a high rating if you have to overhaul the whole thing. I made another ricotta cheesecake that was part ricotta and part cream cheese. It also called for lemon juice, only 4 eggs, and more sugar. It was delicious just like our favorite one from an Italian restaurant. Search for a recipe that combines ricotta with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Cohen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I did make some changes, but only because of personal taste. I didn't add the cinnamon and I used lemon zest instead of the orange. I skipped the vanilla and used limoncello instead. All in all a good cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Light, not too sweet but flavorful. I made it pretty much as written - the only thing I changed was that I strained whole milk ricotta through cheesecloth to get some liquid out of it, and omitted the vanilla and added a couple tablespoons of Cointreau. I think I would add another tablespoon - the flavor is there but it could be a little less subtle. It's delicious though - definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I used this recipe to bake my very first ricotta cheesecake and it was excellent - and soooo easy!!! Ive grown up on the finest ricotta cheesecakes from award winning italian bakeries and homemade versions from old world italian grandmoms so I knew what I would be comparing this recipe to. I dusted the top of mine with cinnamon after it was chilled which was the finishing touch. I read comments below about draining the ricotta beforehand and a variation to include amaretto which I may try next time just to see how it turns out but this recipe is delicious and needs no tweeking...its as good as it gets on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States