Sicilian Lentil Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
A nice alternative way to eat lentils. Heed this warning though: if you cook the lentils as long as this recipe suggests, you will have soup. It only took 30 minutes for my sauce to thicken enough to be served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was fantastic! I'm giving it 5 stars even though I made a couple of changes to suit my tastes. First, I used vegetable stock instead of water, and at first I thought that was a mistake because it started to smell "vegetable soupish", but in the end it worked. I think water would have worked fine too. I used crushed tomatoes in puree instead of sauce, and like others added the zucchini with the tomatoes as I didn't want it overcooked. I omitted the sugar and added a grated carrot with the tomatoes - it does the same thing that sugar is meant to do, cut the acidity of the tomatoes, but you also get a bit more nutrition. And I seasoned with oregano, basil, salt & pepper. Start to finish, my sauce was done in just under an hour - lentils were tender at about 35 minutes and the sauce simmered for maybe another 20 or so. It was very filling and delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Added fresh oregano and basil and black pepper to season; could have done with more, though. Smelt great cooking! Will freeze the rest and probably eat as soup instead of pasta sauce. I used large, chunky mushrooms and they held their shape and texture well. The recipe didn't say what kind of lentils to use; I used green, which worked well. They cooked thoroughly but didn't disintegrate. Will make again. *** Update: increased to four stars because it's so yummy as a thick soup with wholemeal bread! Fantastic take-to-work microwave food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Mmmmm mmmmm good! I omitted the sugar and added a sprinkle of locatelli cheese to the top served with crusty french bread and we were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
I suggest adding the mushrooms and zucchini 10 minutes before serving, so they do not become mushy and hold their shape
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
This sauce was a little too sweet for me--maybe if I eliminated the sugar it would be good because I love all the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
thick and tastes good, but a little sweet for my taste. I would make it the same without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I left out the sugar and the last bit of water intentionally, and the garlic less intentionally and it was great. My toddler LOVED this so hence the 5 star stamp of approval. She is going through a fussy stage and usually doesn't really want to touch much of her dinner at night. She actually gobbled it all up! I suspect that this recipe could be quite easily converted to a crockpot recipe. If you cook it in a wok with gas it only takes about 30 minutes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I didn't use the sugar but otherwise made it by the recipe. Def a keeper in my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This sauce is a great, healthy concept, but the recipe, as written, is quite bland. I made the recipe exactly as directed but my husband and I both thought it needed seasoning to help the flavor. We ended up adding salt, black pepper, dried basil, thyme flakes, and garlic powder which improved the sauce significantly. Next time I'll add these right away so that the flavors can develop while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope Valley, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Fresh Semolina and Egg Pasta

See how to make homemade fresh pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States