Sicilian Lemon Chicken with Raisin-Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was very full of flavor and was a big hit at my dinner party. I didn't use olives and I didn't drain the tomatos per previous suggestions. I also added crumbled bacon right before I served. The bacon was wonderful with the pinenuts and was a nice balance to the sweetness. Also served with the shredded brussels sprout recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
My husband and I like this. I dont know if I did this right, but it was pretty spicy. Ive added 1/4 cayenne to other recipes, but I thought this was way spicy. I agree with other reviews- definitely need to add some chicken broth and do not drain the tomatoes. The idea and basis of this recipe was good though. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This recipe is unique, with a great flavor base. My husband loved the lemon zest & balsamic zing. I made the recipe just like it asked, I think next time I'll cook the chicken first, pull it out to rest while making the sauce. One less pan & the lemon will flavor the tomato sauce more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamSnatcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Delicious! My husband and I really enjoyed this for dinner. I changed the recipe around and used cashews instead of pine nuts and left out the olives (I don't like black olives)and parmesan cheese. I didn't have real lemons so I used lemon juice (and so left out lemon zest, too). The reason it's a 4 and not a 5 is: 1) I didn't follow the recipe completely and can't vouch for the exact way written above; and 2) the number of dirty pots and pans...I have a small kitchen and three things on the stove all at once is really tight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is a really tasty recipe. I really like it because it has a quite different flavor from a typical tomato sauce. The cayenne pepper adds a real kick of spiciness and the raisins add a nice sweetness. After reading reviews, I made a couple of modifications: (1) I reduced the raisins to 1/2 a cup which I think was right; (2) I decreased the amount of pasta by about 1/3; (3) I added a couple of fresh small heirloom tomatoes to the can of diced tomatoes and like other reviewers, I did not drain the diced tomatoes. Other than that, I followed the recipe to a T and it really did come out very tasty. I like how different the sauce is from most other pasta sauces I've made. I'll be using this one again, definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This dish was great! I didn't have all the ingredients, so I left out cayenne pepper, olives, pine nuts, and balsamic vinegar, and this dish was still DELICIOUS! The chicken was awesome, but the sauce was absolutely superb. So sweet and so flavorful. The raisins were the best part. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was GREAT my boyfriend and I are always looking to try new things and this definately was good and bursting with flavor! I agree that the sauce wasnt enough so next time i think i'll double or triple it for us next time. but again it was very flavorful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
The sauce had an awkward flavor and was not saucy enough to cover the pasta (even after adding wine and water to thin it out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedanielle2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Absolutely love the flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Rashel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This was SO YUMMY and healthy and easy to make. I took others' advice and did not drain the tomatoes. I'm glad I didn't, the dish could have used a tad more juice. Next time I might try to add a touch of white wine or just buy crushed tomatoes instead of diced. I also left out the olives and seasoned the chicken with seasoning salt and pepper. I will definitely make this again soon! Would be a great meal to serve when guests are over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States