Sicilian Lemon Chicken with Raisin-Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
needs more liquid, different but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
So good!!! I made this recipe as shown except I added the juice from the tomatoes, homemade chicken broth, decreased the pasta by 1/3 and omitted the olives because I didn't have them on hand. Next time I may even try grilling the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I wanted to do something with chicken and raisins, and this recipe came up. This is such a great dish that you can change some things here and there and it will still turn out great. I didn't have golden raisins, so I used regular ones, and I only used about 1/2 the amount, and I used green olives instead of black. I also didn't have any basil, bay leaves, or pine nuts, so I just left those out. It still turned out to be delicious. I thought it would just be alright--something I'd try once b/c I can't think of what to make for dinner, but this will become one of my go-to recipes. My husband loved it. I think next time, I won't drain the tomatoes so much. Also, I only used 2 large chicken breasts, and it was just the right amount of sauce; if you use 4 chicken breasts like the recipe calls for, you might want to make more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
My family really enjoyed this dish! My kids thought it was a little too spicy, so for their sakes I might decrease the cayenne just a tad. I thought it was the perfect amount of heat. I cut the chicken into strips and tossed with the lemon juice, salt and pepper, and some fresh basil before cooking. Next time I will quadruple the olives. We love olives and couldn't taste them. I only cooked 1/2 lb of pasta which comfortably served 5 (2 adults and 3 kids). Any more than that would have been too much. This would also work well with Brown rice or quinoa if you are not a pasta fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This sounds like it would be an odd combination, but it was surprisingly good. Nice summer dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
The flavor of this recipe was great. Next time I tried cutting up the chicken but sliced is better. Try cutlets, they cook more evenly. It was also good without the cheese. I did save and use the tomato liquid and added it to the sauce. You can simmer it down to thicken but I wanted all the sauce I could get to put on the pasta. I agree with someone who said it was restaurant or better quality. Used sliced instead of chopped olives and almonds instead of pine nuts. BTW angel hair cooks in only about 4 min. Thanks, Larry from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Delicious! I was a little afraid of the lemon zest (I thought it would be too bitter) but it complemented the flavour perfectly. I didn't drain the tomatoes, cut the chicken in bite - sized chunks and cooked it that way and used spaghetti instead of angel hair pasta, because we like it better. Thanks for this interesting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
very yummy. i make large quantities when i make this dish always a crowd pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamanleyx

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I really like how the chicken tastes - being soaked in lemon juice before being cooked. Makes me want to do this to all the chicken I make! But the raisin-tomato sauce is just alright. Kind of took away from the fantastic chicken taste a little...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Terrific! Light and tasty, easy to make for dinner at home or for entertaining. If serving for company, be sure to have a veggie side dish or a light dessert. Can't wait to make it again. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States