Sicilian Homemade Ricotta Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I've never made any type of cheese before and I think this was a good one to start with. The recipe was very simple and the results were delicious. I cut the recipe in half and only used one cheesecloth, but otherwise followed the instructions as written. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I did not try this but I want to know if I can make this using Lactaid milk and making "buttermilk or sour milk" with lactaid will give me the same results. I saw where others have not used the heavy cream, so that wouldn't be a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
OMG! Never made this before but will make instead of buying at the store. Just like when I was small and got ricotta at the italian deli. So creamy. The ricotta in stores today is grainy with no taste and not creamy at all. As soon as this was made had to spread on toast and eat warm. Yum! Made italian doughnuts with it. They were to die for. Great recipe. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I have been looking for fresh ricotta cheese in my area without sucsess. Being able to make fresh cheese like I used to get back home, well I'll make my own from now on. I'm from the Detroit area where you can go to an Italian bakery and buy a as much as you need. Out here in the Seattle area, fresh is not from a tub. I couldn't be happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Montgomery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I know all these responses are a few years old, but, in response to Terry. Yes, store bought is cheaper but by no means better. This recipe is fantastic. I never thought it would be so easy to make ricotta. I gave some to my daughter to try and she said as soon as she tasted it she got out the crackers and chowed down. She never even shared it with her children or husband. I will never buy ricotta cheese again. The extra cost is totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I have the great fortune of living close to two cheese makers who make ricotta like I remember my grandmother using. Because I can get it direct from the dairy it's relatively inexpensive, a little over $2.00 a pound, and it comes in either a 5 pound container or two and a half pounds. This recipe, after seeing many, interests me and next trip to the grocery store I'll be picking up all the things needed to try this. I've always said that no matter how good something that is commercially made is there's nothing like homemade! 5 stars before I even try it because it just looks that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Older'n Dirt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I just finished making this cheese. And if I knew it would be this easy I certainly would never have bought the store brand, this tastes so fresh I can't keep myself from sampling it there probably won't be much left by supper tomorrow night. Good Job Girl and Thanks for the really good cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
This recipe is better with lemon juice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is so far the best homemade ricotta/fresh/farmer's cheese on AR. It's rich, creamy, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This recipe is just fabulous! It's so easy, and appears to be foolproof! Beautiful texture, and lovely light flavor. I served it to my husband drizzled with Italian honey with blueberries on the side. His remark was "what are the peasants eating?" It truly makes you feel very special. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Ricotta Pie (Old Italian Recipe)

A favorite Italian cheese pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States