Sicilian Brasciole a la Lena Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I really should taste it first. It is cooking right now. This rating is based on the clarity of the directions and the recipe itself, which I thought was very clear and well written. If I remember to, I will add to the review after my carb-induced coma (pasta AND garlic bread? really?) I also learned something - that 'grandma's house' smell? It's parsley and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
made this recipe exactly as is; it was superb. In my opinion, it does not need any tinkering. Our grass-fed beef really shone in this recipe. EVERYONE loved it - my husband, my kids (3 & 4), my parents, and my brother and sister-in-law. Sauce was so good the leftovers were kept and put on noodles for lunch the next day! Now THAT's a good recipe! Thanks for sharing!! It'll be appearing often on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This turned out very good. The mean fell apart... it was fork tender, I was very pleased. I will use more cheese next time and more garlic... I found I couldn't really taste the stuffing. But still a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Great start. I would not go through the expense of good meat and the work of brasciola and use a jarred sauce, though. If you're going to make this, take the time to make a good sauce. It's worth it. I also think the steak needs to be a lot thinner than 1/2 inch....1/4 inch rolls well and cooks a lot more tender. The flavor was there, though, and the filling is adaptable. We prefer Parmesan to Romano and I was out of raisins so I used a mixed dried fruit blend. Very easy to fit to your own family's tastes and preferences. I also prefer to make several, smaller braciole (plural) rather than one large braciola (singular). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Atoka, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
What a pain in the neck! OK, so the meat could have been thinner, but I pounded and pounded. My piece of round steak was split up the middle, so when it came time to roll it up, there were crumbs falling out all over the place- the cutting board, the skillet...what a mess! It was very difficult to handle. I hope the taste is worth all the trouble. It's in the crock pot now. I'll get back later with a final "thumbs up" or "-down". A year has passed since I wrote the first part. I tried this for Christmas dinner again this year. This time I used smaller pieces of round steak instead of one large one. I think I got the hang of the roll and tie part- roll it tight and tie it tight. This is no place for a 'light' touch. Also, I think it could have simmered longer, since the rolls weren't as tender as I might have liked. A good recipe, the fault is mine for not cooking long enough. I will make this again. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by live4chocolate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Since I am Sicilian, I grew up on this. My mother's stuffing was a little different, (no raisins, I didn't like them)but the basic recipe is the same. This is my husband's favorite, altho I don't make it that often because I have to make a lot and it's quite time consuming, esp. when making the sauce from scratch, which I do. Thanks Anthony, I'm going to the store to get the ingredients today! Made me hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe turned out fantastic. Great combination of flavors. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Just wasn't anything extrordinary for all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Tawas, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
maybe I did something wrong but we did not like this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTIEARMYWIFE23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This dish was very tender and was fairly easy to put together. I myself did'nt feel the flavors had a good marriage....my husband loved it though! I probably won't try this recipe again but it did spawn alot of ideas for expermentaion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOSTIN_OZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Sicilian Steak Sandwich

Put a sensational Sicilian spin on the Philly steak sandwich.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States