Shuku Shuku Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
this is a very very good recipe and is the bomb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was absolutely delicious and soooo easy to make!!! Everybody at the dinner party I went to loved it and I ate like 5 ::gasp:: because they were sooo good. My husband said he didn't like coconut and still loved these cookies! Way better than macaroons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Maybe I'll give these another chance someday, as I must have screwed up this recipe somehow, as we did not care for them at all. So many great reviews, it was a big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Well, I think you should add the flour to the ingredients! When I was making this and read over the instructions, it didn't say to add the flour. All it said was to roll it in flour. When I mixed the egg yolks, sugar, and coconut, I KNEW it wouldn't hold a shape, so I decided the flour has to be added to the mixture. I thought the cookie tasted okay, not great...pretty dry, but it was alright. And the kids I made it for liked it, so it seemed to be a hit with them. I rolled the cookies in powdered sugar after they were baked and cooled some. By the way, if anyone is looking for unsweetened coconut & superfine sugar, Kroger sells their own brand of both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is actually really good. I didn't have unsweetened cocunut flakes, so i used the sweetened flakes. I thought the sweetness was perfect! There is a review that says you need to add the flour to the ingredients. Do Not Do That! (I did the first time) I checked various other recipes for Shuku Shuku and the flour is only to coat the ball of "dough". I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Made this for staff meeting this morning and they chose these over the Krispy Kreme Doughnuts - go figure!! I did use the sweetened coconut. I also just rolled them in the flour, so they wouldn't be too dry....turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
pretty good--if you like coconut --which i do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is really tasty. I was looking for something to do with leftover egg yolks from making meringues. I used powerdered coconut and ground up my own sugar (to make superfine sugar) for this recipe. I will try it with the flaked coconut next time. I doubled the recipe but only got about the amount indicated for a single batch because the powdered coconut is much more compact than the flaked, I believe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaemonZeiro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Only 4 ingredients. Simple to make. I don't have kids, but if I did I would have them make this recipe to introduce them to baking desserts. You can use sweetened coconut flakes if you like your cookies on the sweet side. I use the unsweetened because I don't like overly sweet desserts. I use brown sugar, but any finely ground sugar would work. I have also been experimenting with different flours. Some people have said on here that their cookies come out dry and this is a direct result of adding the flour to the batter when you should just ROLL them in the flour before placing them on the cookie sheet. When you do this your cookies will be moist and tasty with a powdery outside. So far, I have tried all-purpose, oatmeal flour, a gluten-free flour, and wheat flour all with good results. Again - don't add the flour to the batter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
A quick, fun treat to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Clone of a Cracker Jack®

See how to make your own delicious peanutty, caramel-covered popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States