Shuk Shuka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Very delicious and really quick to throw together. I don't like fried eggs, so I scrambled them into the mix after cooking the tomatoes and garlic. It was ready much faster after cooking it that way. My roma tomatoes were small, but the amount worked out perfectly. The only other thing I changed was adding a bit of black pepper and only doing the smallest dash of salt. We used honey wheat pitas and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
A nice change from fried or scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Pretty good... next time i'll add some ketchup and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
OK so I didn't follow the recipe exactly but it turned out great! We didn't have pitas so we used tortillas and I added a layer of hashbrowns. This was great! I'm going to have to try folling the instructions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Ponce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
We call this dish menamen in Lebanon and this recipe is perfect replica of it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This is a nice fast vegetarian dish. Good tomatoes (local farmer's market or, even better, home-grown) make all the difference in this dish. I used shallots instead of garlic. UPDATE: I found that you should not make this in a cast iron pan. The egg whites turn black. I think this is a reaction between the acid in the tomatoes, the iron, and the egg whites. Not very appetizing, but we still ate them. Flavor was not affected and we had no ill effects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is amazing when the egg yolks get poached whole in the tomatoes. To do this, just make sure the pan you're cooking the tomatoes in is deep enough for the eggs to be totally covered. Also, when eating with the pita, adding a little feta on top rounds out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Hi, this was ok but found it was a little bland. Maybe better if you put some salt and black pepper or cumin on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was ok, but bland. I decided to try it because I'm Arab and not a big fan of this dish (shak shooka) the way we make it, but this is very bland in comparison to the way we make it at home. If you want to give it a kick add onions with the garlic then some mild to hot green peppers (depending on your liking) then season with cumin. That's how we make it here in Egypt and, more specifically, my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this for myself this morning since nobody else in the family cares for tomatoes. Gotta say WOW! It was great. Only thing I did was season it with a little cumin. Boy was it good. This is now my Sunday breakfast. Thanks so much Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi'sHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Red Lion, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef Hash

See how to make corned beef hash with the perfect crispy crust.

How to Make Perfect Poached Eggs

See a great technique for poaching eggs quickly and easily.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States