Shrimps Saganaki (Greek Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a wonderful dish! So simple to make but elegent in appearance! Can be served over Rice or Orzo as a warm meal on a cold winter here in New York! We also add some olives to keep the authentic greek tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious on toasted bread - bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was fantastic! I used 1/2 cup wine, added chopped olives at the end with the feta and served over rice. I also used frozen large shrimp and did not have to de-head them...Lovely. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I think this recipe was awesome. I just didn't add all the feta cheese since I wanted to taste more the shrimp . I cooked it with some other Greek recipes and it was a hit w my family. Also I didn't pre boil the shrimp, the shrimp I bought were already cleaned and I didn't have to do any of that . I just cook the shrimp directly in the sauce . Not for too long since shrimp cannot be overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victor
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I added fresh cut garlic cloves, used real Greek feta and put it under the broiler for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this was very good, fast to make. I made a slight adjustment since I was out of metaxa so I replaced it with a TBL of ouzo which worked well, I thought. I served it with olive oil, lemon juice and oregeno potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was really good. I didn't add the stock back in though, and I used fresh garlic. This recipe is a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used all of the ingredients listed (except i used 1 minced garlic clove instead of the garlic powder) but followed a different prep method. First, I used frozen peeled and deveined shrimp, so I didn't need to boil them first and then peel them. So, with that in mind I sauteed the onion (red onion) in olive oil till soft, then added garlic. I added the crushed tomatoes and parsley, and let it simmer on high until most all the liquid had evaporated. I then added the raw, defrosted shrimp and cooked them for 3 mins in the tomato sauce. I then added a cup of white wine. This is where I would alter the recipe - 1 cup is too much liquid to add at this point, as while the end result was tasty, it was too watery - this dish shouldn't be soupy, and with 1 cup of wine added that was the consistency I got. So after adding the wine and letting it simmer for a minute, I added the feta and transferred the skillet to an oven preheated to 400F. I cooked the dish for a further 5 to 7 mins, till bubbly and the feta slightly browned on top. All in all the taste was delicious, but next time I will just start with 1/2 cup of wine and add more if necessary. Served with crusty bread it made a great supper and was surprisingly easy to make! I am also thinking of using a few shots of ouzo next time instead of the wine. NOTE: I did not add any stock as the recipe calls for and I agree with the previous reviewer that one shouldn't add it otherwise this recipe would be for soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I'd definitely reduce the "2 inches of water "- if I'd added the entire amount of shrimp stock, I'd have had soup. I only used a portion of the stock, then added 1 1/2 Tbsp. of cornstarch to thicken up a bit. Most of the flavour came from the feta cheese . The next time I'd add chopped kalameta olives along with some greek seasoning and fresh chopped tomatoes. Recipe does have great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States