Shrimps Saganaki (Greek Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I used all of the ingredients listed (except i used 1 minced garlic clove instead of the garlic powder) but followed a different prep method. First, I used frozen peeled and deveined shrimp, so I didn't need to boil them first and then peel them. So, with that in mind I sauteed the onion (red onion) in olive oil till soft, then added garlic. I added the crushed tomatoes and parsley, and let it simmer on high until most all the liquid had evaporated. I then added the raw, defrosted shrimp and cooked them for 3 mins in the tomato sauce. I then added a cup of white wine. This is where I would alter the recipe - 1 cup is too much liquid to add at this point, as while the end result was tasty, it was too watery - this dish shouldn't be soupy, and with 1 cup of wine added that was the consistency I got. So after adding the wine and letting it simmer for a minute, I added the feta and transferred the skillet to an oven preheated to 400F. I cooked the dish for a further 5 to 7 mins, till bubbly and the feta slightly browned on top. All in all the taste was delicious, but next time I will just start with 1/2 cup of wine and add more if necessary. Served with crusty bread it made a great supper and was surprisingly easy to make! I am also thinking of using a few shots of ouzo next time instead of the wine. NOTE: I did not add any stock as the recipe calls for and I agree with the previous reviewer that one shouldn't add it otherwise this recipe would be for soup!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I'd definitely reduce the "2 inches of water "- if I'd added the entire amount of shrimp stock, I'd have had soup. I only used a portion of the stock, then added 1 1/2 Tbsp. of cornstarch to thicken up a bit. Most of the flavour came from the feta cheese . The next time I'd add chopped kalameta olives along with some greek seasoning and fresh chopped tomatoes. Recipe does have great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Delicious on toasted bread - bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
this was very good, fast to make. I made a slight adjustment since I was out of metaxa so I replaced it with a TBL of ouzo which worked well, I thought. I served it with olive oil, lemon juice and oregeno potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a wonderful dish! So simple to make but elegent in appearance! Can be served over Rice or Orzo as a warm meal on a cold winter here in New York! We also add some olives to keep the authentic greek tasting meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was really good. I didn't add the stock back in though, and I used fresh garlic. This recipe is a staple for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I think this recipe was awesome. I just didn't add all the feta cheese since I wanted to taste more the shrimp . I cooked it with some other Greek recipes and it was a hit w my family. Also I didn't pre boil the shrimp, the shrimp I bought were already cleaned and I didn't have to do any of that . I just cook the shrimp directly in the sauce . Not for too long since shrimp cannot be overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was fantastic! I used 1/2 cup wine, added chopped olives at the end with the feta and served over rice. I also used frozen large shrimp and did not have to de-head them...Lovely. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States