Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
Very good basic shrimp salad. Make sure all ingredients are dry. I cut mayo to 1/2 cup, added a tblsp. of lemon juice, and used sweet vidalia onion. I seasoned with Old Bay Seafood seasoning for an extra zing. Chilled VERY well and served on bed of butter lettuce and baby spinach with crusty whole wheat rolls on the side (and corn on the cob from the garden!). Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Really great recipe - I took other user's ideas and cut the shrimp, dried the shrimp well before mixing. I also substituted 1/2 the mayo with sour cream and a tsp of horseradish sauce for some extra kick and used green onionsinstead of white onion. Added some cilantro and a dash of balsamic vinegar. Excellent results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was good... I only gave it three stars because I used frozen shrimp, and I suspect that they weren't thawed and drained adequately because the salad ended up being too runny/watery. If you use frozen shrimp, make sure they are fully thawed and dried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed it! An important tip I don't see mentioned was after the carrot was shredded I squeezed out the excess moisture. I added an extra egg and used green onions instead. I didn't see much water drained with the shrimp and I left the mixture overnight. I like celery, so next time I would increase the dosage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was YUMMY! I used fresh shrimp and made sure to chop them up and dry them prior to putting them in the bowl. I also used 3 hard boiled eggs since we like those and used just a few organic green onions instead of the regular onions. We were out of regular mayo so I used Miracle Whip. After tasting it, I also thought it needed a bit of a kick. So I mixed in about 1/2 tsp. of half sharp paprika from Penzeys. That did the trick! Served on croissants. Everyone loved it and we will be making this every time shrimp goes on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrHappy1353

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frontenac, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Perfect for spring, perfect for a Friday night during Lent, perfect for a light lunch or supper. I just think it's perfect! The recipe is just fine as written, but I used it as a springboard to personalize it to my own tastes. I added a little extra egg and less carrot. I used green onion rather than regular onion - it adds color and it doesn't linger with you hours after. I added some green peas just for fun and I particularly liked that addition. I cut the mayo half and half with sour cream adding just enough to hold the salad together and make it creamy. I gave it a squeeze of lemon and a few shakes of dill. Nutritious, fresh, light, delicious and "shrimple." (I couldn't help myself...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
Very good recipe--quick, easy and delicious.I recommend cutting the shrimp into smaller segments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good combination of ingredients. I think there was a little to much mayo. Next time I will add a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This was pretty good, I think it could use a little more flavor, and the onion was maybe a bit too much. I served it over a big bed of mixed greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Maybe it was just my onion, but the "bite" of raw onion in this was too strong for me. Next time, I'll try reducing the amount of onion and putting in another egg instead. Very tasty otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States