Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I love the recipe! I did however, add a few things. I didn't have any celery so I substituted blanched asparagus. I didn't have a fresh onion so I used dried onion flakes. I used 1/2 mayo and 1/4 sour cream. I also added a little over half a can of whole black olives. Seasonings that I added to 'taste' was: Old Bay, Cayenne pepper, dried chives, celery salt, and parsley. I hope this is helpful. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahnani83

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pine River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Delicious. I substituted dehydrated onions to stop it from getting wet and used "old bay" instead of salt & pepper. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Like others, added my personal touches, added red bell and jalapeño peppers, green onion, sour cream, shredded cheese, cut back on the mayo, extra egg, radish, and tomato. Drained and chopped everything really well and seasoned with costco non-salt seasoning with a touch of cayanne.....Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peacefulady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I've made this at least 5 times now, and every time it's amazing. My whole family enjoys this, which is quite a feat in itself. Just be sure to dry the shrimp quite thoroughly, one time I was in a rush and the dish came out watery. This is my go-to meal when I want something crunchy, fast, and to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Flavor is bad BUT i thought to many things going on that took away from the shrimp itself. I may try it again to see and leave out the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLENYR
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I made this for my mother she said it was the best shrimp salad she has ever had. I unfortunately cannot taste this recipe due to a SEVERE shellfish allergy so I am taking her word for it. I subbed bacon in for the celery cause I was out of celery. It still gave it a great crunch and she loved the bacon accents(due to bacon used a only mild pinch of salt for seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilacBuddhaCat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I LOVE IT! I added cucumbers and id used shallots. The only thing that I would suggest is to not put it in the fridge, the liquid from the veggies makes the salad watery instead of creamy like when id first made it. ..Also, I made a wrap w/ mine. It was nice, lite, and healthy. :-) I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN...AGAIN...and AGAIN! ;-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi-Me
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Really easy and delicious recipe!! I tripled the recipe and made for 18 people!!! Great for a lunch brunch! I boiled the shrimp myself so it was super fresh (simple to do - boil water with a handful of old bay and a few sliced lemons-squeezed and tossed in, let water boil when it does drop shrimp in, turn to medium low heat, cook for 4-5 minutes, place directly in bowl with water and ice to cool and firm the shrimp, leave for 20 min-1hr). I cut the shrimp in half, sliced down the middle. I halved the amount of mayo the original recipe called for. The only thing I will do differently next time is add the egg at the end so it doesnt get so mushy when I mix it. Everyone enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I liked this recipe for it's delicate taste. I made some changes. Used four green onions for milder flavor. used half cup mayo. Used ready bagged carrots already shedded. put salad mixture on romaine hearts. I had leftovers to fill pita bread, this was most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Great! i added imitation crab meat and old bay seasoning and it was delicious...with a explanation mark. a future lunch meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States