Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is by far the absolute best shrimp salad I have ever eaten! Hands down this is a winner. I added it to our menu for the year! The only changes I made were: *Use a low-fat mayonnaise and only enough to bind the stuff together, not make it soupy *Use already hard boiled and peeled eggs from the dairy section if you are like me and hate peeling hard boiled eggs *Use 1- one pound bag of frozen, jumbo shrimp that are already peeled and cooked. Pull the tails off and roughly chop them up into large chunks The end result was spectacular! This would be a fantastic meal on top of some Bibb lettuce leaves and some crusty bread on the side. So if you find yourself wanting to make something, I highly recommend this dish. Oh, and it’s easy and hardly any cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am rating a good score because the boiled egg just didn't work for us at all. I added 4 oz cooked large elbow pasta and used miracle whip instead of mayo and this was a huge hit for the man-friends lunch. He loved the cool and refreshing option to his usual lunches of pasta salads. Make sure you use the right ratio of shrimp to celery, it could drown out the fact that this IS a shrimp salad not celery salad. NIKIJO, this is a wonderful basic recipe to tweek to individual preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this tonight with grilled chicken breasts...this is a great salad with very little effort! I added chopped radish and used light mayo. I only had cocktail shrimp on hand but it was still excellent. I highly recommend this salad. My wife and I loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdy Guy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I liked it a lot! It dissapeared so fast! But it's missing something it desperately needs - spice. I was thinking about trying a marinade for the shrimp because I barely tasted it, maybe I'd cut down a little on mayo too but it was yummy! Ate in a croissant! :) Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
As a new cook, i'm always looking for quick and easy receipes. This dish was quick and delicious. The only change I made, was that I used green onions. My husband requests this all the time now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Such a refreshing salad! Thank you for giving a base recipe. I must admit I tweeked it a bit. Instead of 3/4 cups of mayonnaise I used 1/4 cup mayonnaise and 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt. I then also added to your recipe, the juice of 1 lime, 1 garlic clove minced, and 1/4 teaspoon of dried dill weed. Served on dinner rolls with spinach and tomato to make little sandwiches. DEEELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ds R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sabana Grande, Sabana Grande, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I had uncooked shrimp to use so I sauteed it in a little oil and Old Bay. I added another 1/2t.-3/4t. to salad mixture, like another reviewer, and added the tablespoon of lemon juice. Gave the shrimp a coarse chop and used 1/2 c. mayo + 1/4 c. sour cream. Served it open faced on a romaine lettuce leaf and a piece of toast - yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
So delicious...deserves more than five stars. I had a two pound bag of frozen shrimp uncooked so I cooked it in some butter with garlic, pepper and paprika. Let that sit in a colander until cooled. I doubled the recipe except for the mayonnaise, left that about the same. I did add 2t of horseradish for a little zip. Chilled for several hours before eating. I believe cooking the shrimp myself instead of using already precooked shrimp added much more flavor to this salad. My husband said I can make this all summer long. I do think I'd chop the celery up a bit more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yum! Just what I was looking for. My shrimp were huge so I did cut them up some. Per other reviewers I was careful of the mayo, just added spoonfuls at a time and used half Mayo half miracle whip. I subbed a chopped fresh jalapeno for the onioin b/c it sounded good. Added a pinch of Old Bay at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States