Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
It is very good...and particularly tasty on a whole wheat wrap with a little shredded cheese and then grilled on a George Foreman grill. I replaced the mayo with Greek yogurt to cut the calories and add protein...and it tastes really good! Healthy and fresh. I threw in cilantro too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
this is a great starter recipe. yep, it needs some giddy-up. i added a half of a lemon squeezed, eye-balled some dried dill. maybe a tea-spoon, reduced mayo to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 sour-cream, added some cajun sauce to taste. left the salt on the side-line and added fresh ground pepper. i gnawed this with ritz crackers. great appetizers, especially in summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Very good! I did make sure my shrimp was dry and cut back on the mayo (as a personal preference I mix 1/2 mayonnaise with 1/2 Miracle Whip to alleviate the overwhelming flavor or one or the other) and used Old Bay seasoning instead of salt. After all, what's a seafood recipe without OB? Thanks for sharing the recipe, we'll have it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Made it twice already ... All ingredients were dried well before mixing, added some Old Bay . . . . refrigerated a few hours and it was delicious on a split top bun! Even used precooked shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I personally think this recipe is a good base, but made as is I think it's very boring. So next time I would try horseradish sauce, garlic salt, maybe some mustard... I'll have to read they the reviews and see what "zip" people have used. Also, its a good idea to cut up the shrimp. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
this salad was yummmmm .chopped the prawns as they were big . didnt have celery & added little vinegar .served it on a bed of cabbage leaves .my husband loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Love, love this salad! I did not have any celery so I substituted chopped cucumber. I also cut the mayo in half and substituted plain greek yogurt. I too chopped and dried the shrimp. What a fresh, delicious taste, served with crackers! I WILL be fixing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I halved the recipe in order to use up a 1/2 pound of steamed shrimp leftover from Valentines Day dinner. I was using baby carrots so I just had to estimate how much would estimate 1/2 a regular carrot. I whirled the carrots and onion in my small food processor and chopped the celery fine. I added a couple good shakes of lemon pepper. DH said it was a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is by far the absolute best shrimp salad I have ever eaten! Hands down this is a winner. I added it to our menu for the year! The only changes I made were: *Use a low-fat mayonnaise and only enough to bind the stuff together, not make it soupy *Use already hard boiled and peeled eggs from the dairy section if you are like me and hate peeling hard boiled eggs *Use 1- one pound bag of frozen, jumbo shrimp that are already peeled and cooked. Pull the tails off and roughly chop them up into large chunks The end result was spectacular! This would be a fantastic meal on top of some Bibb lettuce leaves and some crusty bread on the side. So if you find yourself wanting to make something, I highly recommend this dish. Oh, and it’s easy and hardly any cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I am rating a good score because the boiled egg just didn't work for us at all. I added 4 oz cooked large elbow pasta and used miracle whip instead of mayo and this was a huge hit for the man-friends lunch. He loved the cool and refreshing option to his usual lunches of pasta salads. Make sure you use the right ratio of shrimp to celery, it could drown out the fact that this IS a shrimp salad not celery salad. NIKIJO, this is a wonderful basic recipe to tweek to individual preferences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OdaMae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States