Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I used what was in the fridge -- small salad shrimp, radish instead of carrots and red onions. Others have commented about needing more bite, so I added dried dill, paprika, dried marjoram and Old Bay, then replaced half the mayo with horseradish sour cream dip. It's not the same recipe, but that's what I love about online recipes -- reading everyone's twist to the original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I did this yesterday and turned out just great :) I didn't have celery so i used shredded green bell peppers instead and i added sliced spanish balck olives too. Its a very easy recipe and doesn't consume much time and i think it would be good either cold or warm. Next time i will ad mustard, to add a more tangy taste to it. will definetly do it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very good. Needed to use up some fresh shrimp. I added a touch of lemon juice and old bay seasoning to punch up the flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Very good and very easy. Way too much mayo, though. When I make this again, I will start with 1/4 c. and go from there till I reach the desired consistency. Also, I did toss the shrimp with the juice of 1/4 lemon and let it sit while I chopped the vegetables. Used fresh ground pepper and sea salt. Will experiment with other spices like garlic or dill next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe has too much mayo. The dressing shouldn't be the most important ingredient. It should just bind the rest of the ingredients together. I've made this recipe for over 40 years, and use less than a 1/4 of a cup of mayo. Don't be tempted to use canned shrimp. That will produce and different taste than fresh shrimp. Also good with fresh crab, tuna, salmon pieces (either cured or leftovers from a salmon dinner). I prefer green onions in mine. Less of that onion bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Loved it! Really easy and tasty. It's terrific on french bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERPEACH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Fantastic...I added Old Bay:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Very good, but needed something to give it some zest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I am the person who submitted this recipe. I have read through the posted comments and am pleased to see the majority of the people who tried it...liked it. My mother created this recipe as she was very fond of "shrimp salad sandwiches" and preferred to taste the shrimp, NOT to have it overpowered by other ingredients or seasonings. So, to those who like it, you have my blessings and I hope you continue to enjoy it for years to come.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States