Shrimply Delicious Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the advice of another reviewer and seasoned with Old Bay, cut down the mayo and omitted the onion. Yum! I'm serving this over a bed a greens and tomatoes with a hard roll on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deeseiffer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Perfect for spring, perfect for a Friday night during Lent, perfect for a light lunch or supper. I just think it's perfect! The recipe is just fine as written, but I used it as a springboard to personalize it to my own tastes. I added a little extra egg and less carrot. I used green onion rather than regular onion - it adds color and it doesn't linger with you hours after. I added some green peas just for fun and I particularly liked that addition. I cut the mayo half and half with sour cream adding just enough to hold the salad together and make it creamy. I gave it a squeeze of lemon and a few shakes of dill. Nutritious, fresh, light, delicious and "shrimple." (I couldn't help myself...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Suggest adding dill and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This is so good and so easy. Great for a light meal. I used green onions instead of regular onion because my family doesn't eat raw onions. Also, based on some of the reviews saying to use less mayonaise, I added until there was enough to coat the ingrediants; probably about 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
As is, this is a delicious, simple, good old fashioned shrimp salad. I love the combination of ingredients & recommend adjusting the amounts to your taste. We prefer less mayo and more egg so I made those adjustments. Love the crunch of the celery & carrots in this salad. I also used red onion for added color. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
An excellent basic shrimp salad. I used light mayo and reduced the amount to 1/4 c and added 1/4 c extra virgin olive oil. I also added an additional egg, a tsp of garlic and onion powder and just a tsp. of yellow curry powder and some fresh chopped dill and 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice to the dressing. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I had leftover cooked shrimp from a shrimp cocktail platter. They were nice size shrimp, 21-25 count, and I couldn’t let those beauties go to waste, so I made this recipe. This is a nice, basic shrimp salad that you can season to your own personal tastes. I added a little Sriracha chili sauce to mine for a little kick. I also loved the extra color the carrot contributed. This could be served as a lovely salad on mixed greens, or as a sandwich filling. Either way, it’s great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I just whipped this up for a quick lunch, and we love it! Rather than leave them whole, I roughly chopped the shrimp. I swapped out the 1/2 cup of onion and instead used 2 green onions Also, I cut the mayo to 1/3 c. (still plenty!) It was indeed "shrimply delicious" just seasoned with salt, but I decided to sprinkle in a little curry powder. YUM! I served it on a bed of salad greens, but it would make a great appetizer scooped onto cucumber rounds or crackers. And I'd also like to try it with diced avocado. Thank you, Nikijo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a good recipe. My husband and I had it for dinner and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I found this to be an okay recipe. Followed the instructions "to the T" and felt like it was overwhelmed with the onion. I plan to try it again but reduce the amt of onion and add some other things like dijon mustard and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States