Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I finally made this after waiting a while. I cheated and used precooked shrimp just because thats what i had. I also found some HUGE mushrooms at the grocery store that cost a little more but made the shrimp fit better. I did cook the mushrooms for 10 minutes before stuffing them. This was DELISH and easy and so good. It was my dinner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used baby bellas and pretty much followed the recipe. They were easy & yet very impressive-looking! Thanks for the recipe! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I used baby bellas and they seemed really fresh and hard... so I chose to cook for about 5 minutes in the garlic butter to soften some *and* to release some of the moisture:(they colored the garlic butter a brown color, which to me was fine). I needed to let set in a warm oven for awhile, and they were still perfect with an extra 10 or so minutes, even with cooking the mushrooms first. Great presentation with the tails *up* and adding a sprinkling of chopped parsley (even though it was a little hard putting the cheese on that way). This is a recipe that I will use again and again. But... never will I make only 6! Thanks, Ambiambi for an outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I followed recipe as is, along with adding some bread crumbs before filling. EXCELLENT. I did not pre-cook mushrooms either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Wow, these little appetizers are rich & delicious. The butter flavored mushrooms was the best part! I will be making them again soon, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
these were very good. i pre cooked the mushrooms in the oven for 10 mins. added extra shrimp that i cut up along with fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I made this recipe as stated and liked it but had some problems. My mushrooms didn't cook through. The amount of butter/garlic was perfect and gave a good flavor without being greasy. My guests and I had trouble eating them. I'm not sure if it was because the shrimp were as big as my mushroom caps or not. Next time, I would chop the shrimp. While these had a nice flavor, I kept thinking something was missing. I think maybe some bread crumbs and either bacon or a splash of lemon. I enjoyed them and they were all eaten but I just think it needs an extra tweak to take it to 5 stars for me. Thanks for the recipe and I'm glad I finally got to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
EXCELLENT! So easy to make too! I took Sunny's suggestion and added flat leaf parsley for color and freshness. I would highly recommend NOT cooking the mushrooms ahead of time as someone suggested as they cook up nicely just the way the recipe is. My girlfriends gobbled them up then broke out a loaf of crusty bread and sopped up the leftover scampi juices. Thanks Ambibambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally Renz Cummings

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was amazing - I'm sorry I didn't make more, but I will soon! Because it's not full of cream cheese - like most stuffed mushrooms - you can really enjoy the mushroom and shrimp flavors. I did brine the shrimp for about 20 minutes, but other than that, I followed the recipe (oh, and a rough chop to the shrimp). I had great success making these ahead. I par cooked the shrimp in the garlic butter, roasted the mushrooms (upside down) for 10 minutes, assembled, and refrigerated until party time. I baked for about 20 minutes and broiled to brown the cheese. Thanks ambibambi, for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I don't know why I procrastinated so much to make this recipe. I can't believe what I've been missing all this time. We absolutely loved it! At first I thought it called for too much butter, but we sopped up all that golden goodness with a crusty baguette until the plate was licked clean. Amber, you're a smart cookie. We are hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States