Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Wow, these little appetizers are rich & delicious. The butter flavored mushrooms was the best part! I will be making them again soon, I hope!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cemetery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
these were very good. i pre cooked the mushrooms in the oven for 10 mins. added extra shrimp that i cut up along with fresh parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I made this recipe as stated and liked it but had some problems. My mushrooms didn't cook through. The amount of butter/garlic was perfect and gave a good flavor without being greasy. My guests and I had trouble eating them. I'm not sure if it was because the shrimp were as big as my mushroom caps or not. Next time, I would chop the shrimp. While these had a nice flavor, I kept thinking something was missing. I think maybe some bread crumbs and either bacon or a splash of lemon. I enjoyed them and they were all eaten but I just think it needs an extra tweak to take it to 5 stars for me. Thanks for the recipe and I'm glad I finally got to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
EXCELLENT! So easy to make too! I took Sunny's suggestion and added flat leaf parsley for color and freshness. I would highly recommend NOT cooking the mushrooms ahead of time as someone suggested as they cook up nicely just the way the recipe is. My girlfriends gobbled them up then broke out a loaf of crusty bread and sopped up the leftover scampi juices. Thanks Ambibambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValleyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was amazing - I'm sorry I didn't make more, but I will soon! Because it's not full of cream cheese - like most stuffed mushrooms - you can really enjoy the mushroom and shrimp flavors. I did brine the shrimp for about 20 minutes, but other than that, I followed the recipe (oh, and a rough chop to the shrimp). I had great success making these ahead. I par cooked the shrimp in the garlic butter, roasted the mushrooms (upside down) for 10 minutes, assembled, and refrigerated until party time. I baked for about 20 minutes and broiled to brown the cheese. Thanks ambibambi, for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I don't know why I procrastinated so much to make this recipe. I can't believe what I've been missing all this time. We absolutely loved it! At first I thought it called for too much butter, but we sopped up all that golden goodness with a crusty baguette until the plate was licked clean. Amber, you're a smart cookie. We are hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Husband loved them and kept stealing kidlet's shrimpcargots. :) ***UPDATE*** Served as an appy for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved them. I did add 1/2 with seasoning salt/paprika blend and the other half with Chef Paul's Magic Salmon Seasoning. The Salmon Seasong tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The first time I tried this was great!! I had, in my stash of "kitchen stuff", some Coquille Shells, so when I wanted an impressive appetizer for a special dinner...I just soaked the large shells in water for awhile. Instead of just putting the filled mushrooms in a pan to bake, and then transfer to plate, I transferred the beautiful filled shells. The soaked shells didn't break and it was truly spectacular to serve!! A different kind of 'Rockefella'!! PS. I also used "I can't believe it's not Butter", because at 65, I want us to be able to say "I can't believe we lived this Long", especially since I just have always loved to cook hearty!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and so easy to prepare. I didn't have the parmesan cheese on hand so used grated mozza, and they were still delicious. This is definitely an appetizer that will impress your company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Always requested to be at the party!!!!! It was a big hit and even the picky eaters loved this. Fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States