Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This was amazing - I'm sorry I didn't make more, but I will soon! Because it's not full of cream cheese - like most stuffed mushrooms - you can really enjoy the mushroom and shrimp flavors. I did brine the shrimp for about 20 minutes, but other than that, I followed the recipe (oh, and a rough chop to the shrimp). I had great success making these ahead. I par cooked the shrimp in the garlic butter, roasted the mushrooms (upside down) for 10 minutes, assembled, and refrigerated until party time. I baked for about 20 minutes and broiled to brown the cheese. Thanks ambibambi, for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I don't know why I procrastinated so much to make this recipe. I can't believe what I've been missing all this time. We absolutely loved it! At first I thought it called for too much butter, but we sopped up all that golden goodness with a crusty baguette until the plate was licked clean. Amber, you're a smart cookie. We are hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Husband loved them and kept stealing kidlet's shrimpcargots. :) ***UPDATE*** Served as an appy for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved them. I did add 1/2 with seasoning salt/paprika blend and the other half with Chef Paul's Magic Salmon Seasoning. The Salmon Seasong tasted the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
The first time I tried this was great!! I had, in my stash of "kitchen stuff", some Coquille Shells, so when I wanted an impressive appetizer for a special dinner...I just soaked the large shells in water for awhile. Instead of just putting the filled mushrooms in a pan to bake, and then transfer to plate, I transferred the beautiful filled shells. The soaked shells didn't break and it was truly spectacular to serve!! A different kind of 'Rockefella'!! PS. I also used "I can't believe it's not Butter", because at 65, I want us to be able to say "I can't believe we lived this Long", especially since I just have always loved to cook hearty!! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe and so easy to prepare. I didn't have the parmesan cheese on hand so used grated mozza, and they were still delicious. This is definitely an appetizer that will impress your company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Always requested to be at the party!!!!! It was a big hit and even the picky eaters loved this. Fairly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This appetizer is a big hit with my family, and I get requests to make it often. If you have mushroom lovers in your family, you may want to make multiple of this recipe, because it gets devoured quickly! Thanks for the great recipe, ambibambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Momster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Cabin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA
Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is SO DELICIOUS! I have now made these at least once a month since May 2009. I now always make 1-2 dozen with the 1/4 cup butter (sometimes up to 1/2 olive oil). As 'ambibambi' herself told me, definitely saute the mushrooms in the butter (with a crushed clove of garlic) before then sauteing the shrimp & minced garlic. I slightly undercook the shrimp so that it won't become overcooked in the baking. I have used both baby bellas (cremini) & regular white button mushrooms ~ equally delicious! I've also used many different cheese combinations: only mozz.(which I find rather bland by itself, but still good); Kasseri cheese, which is a tangy, sharp cheese that tastes like a combination of Parmesan, Swiss, & mellow Monterey Jack; mozz. mixed with the assertive Kasseri; mozz. with sharp cheddar; mozz. with Parmesan; Monterey jack. Every combination - except all-cheddar - was nearly as delicious as my favorite: baby bellas + Kasseri cheese (with or without the mozz.). For serving, I strongly suggest to separate the mushrooms either after topping with cheese or after baking (the latter is harder because it's hot & you want to serve it quickly while hot) ~ so that guests won't have the cooling cheese pull off the cheese from other mushrooms. I put only a speck of garlic butter on the filled mushrooms, so that the appetizer does not drip while being eaten. Or else bake & serve this in individual ramekins, so guests can drip onto their own plate. A serving is 2? I think not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by miss spice
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
If I could give a 10 I would. So good, buttery and cheesey. I definitely recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss spice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My husband really liked these. I thought they were just O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States