Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I have to admit I was a little skeptical as I was making these that they would be flavorful enough; I kept thinking I could add a little X or a little Y, but I stayed true to the recipe and they are great! I only used at most 2 TBSP butter and a dash of EVOO just to lighten it up a little, but other than that the ingredients remained the same. After consulting w/ambi, I put the shroom caps (large Portabellas) in the oven for about 10 min first, then proceeded to fill and bake them. Following the advice of prior reviewers, I broiled for about 2 min to get the tops golden brown. My only *complain*, if you will, w/these is they're not real easy to eat (and get a bite of everything). When I make them again (notice, I said "when"), I may chop the shrimp for eating ease. Oh yeah, don't be an idiot like me and forget to take the tails of the shrimp....THANKS for a keeper, ambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Awesome recipe! I added a little seasoned salt, parmesan cheese & snipped some fresh parsley over the top. I will be making this often! Thanks for sharing this great idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
I made this for a ladies luncheon over the weekend and the girls went crazy over them. I did add probably a bit more cheese, some inside and more on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Photo by MI$$DREA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
this was so good! to make it a dinner i doubled it and served it with pesto pasta. i did follow the suggestions of some of the reviews and chopped the shrimp before i cooked it, baked 10 mins before filling with the shrimp mixture, used half butter and half olive oil. i also added some parsley, crushed red pepper, and some lemon juice, not that it needed it, just felt like doing it though. will definately make these for appetizers in the future. so easy and looked really impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
HUGE HIT!! Added a sprinkling of bread crumbs as others did and used 3 Tbl butter, 1 Tbl olive oil, added S&P. Baked for 10 mins then a minute under the broiler. My sister loved them so much she asked me to make them again before her visit at my home ends in a couple days. So simple and easy, but with impressive looking and tasting results. Thanks Amber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Your recipe tasted so good. My husband and myself have eaten this 3 times and I really appreciate you putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe! Since I'm always looking for shortcuts and healthier ways to cook food I used olive oil, didn't sautee shrimp - just put thawed precooked shrimp ( 3 large ones for 1 mushroom cap ), omitted garlic ( didn't have it ). Turned out well! Next time I'll use more salt and some chopped herbs ( rosemary? sage?) and gruyere cheese ( I love anything with gruyere ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was an excellent and unique appy!The only changes I made was to add salt and to make it with half butter and half olive oil.I will definitely make this again because my guests loved it and so did I!!!Thanks Ambibambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
It was excellent I made a dinner out of them just bread and shrimcargot!! Yummy!!!! I think the mushrooms should be cooked a little bit more though... so they are more crispy so next time I think I will cook the mushrooms for about 5-10 mins before then add the shrimp and garlic and butter and cheese then let it cook ... so it will be crispy and the water from the mushrooms will be evaporated... but still yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good. Took other's suggestions. Baked shitake mushroom caps for 7 mins after salting. Used Italian breadcrumbs & added chopped mushroom stems and broiled for about 2 minutes. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. Not much too add from other reviews, except they are filling. Especially if you have the french baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States