Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Beatrice
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Great flavor, hubby gives it a big thumbs up. Since I used the large portabella caps, I used 2 shrimp on each. I also added just a bit of Italian bread crumbs on top. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe KICKS A$$! I added some chopped flat-leaf to the garlic butter and broiled the cheese to get it brown. We LOVED them and each ate 4 huge ones! Thanks,ambi - you got a hit! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Great idea with shrimps. I did the same as the last person, added breadcrumbs and also added chopped mushroom stem into butter & a little bit of oregano. Serve with Pinot Grigio and BAM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made these for an appetizer party, and everyone loved them. I increased the recipe to make 24. I precooked the mini-portabellas for five minutes upside down, mixed Italian breadcrumbs with the garlic butter in which I cooked the shrimp, placed a teaspoon of the crumb mixture on each mushroom cap, curled a shrimp on top and then added the cheese. There weren't any left by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berthoud, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is SO DELICIOUS! I have now made these at least once a month since May 2009. I now always make 1-2 dozen with the 1/4 cup butter (sometimes up to 1/2 olive oil). As 'ambibambi' herself told me, definitely saute the mushrooms in the butter (with a crushed clove of garlic) before then sauteing the shrimp & minced garlic. I slightly undercook the shrimp so that it won't become overcooked in the baking. I have used both baby bellas (cremini) & regular white button mushrooms ~ equally delicious! I've also used many different cheese combinations: only mozz.(which I find rather bland by itself, but still good); Kasseri cheese, which is a tangy, sharp cheese that tastes like a combination of Parmesan, Swiss, & mellow Monterey Jack; mozz. mixed with the assertive Kasseri; mozz. with sharp cheddar; mozz. with Parmesan; Monterey jack. Every combination - except all-cheddar - was nearly as delicious as my favorite: baby bellas + Kasseri cheese (with or without the mozz.). For serving, I strongly suggest to separate the mushrooms either after topping with cheese or after baking (the latter is harder because it's hot & you want to serve it quickly while hot) ~ so that guests won't have the cooling cheese pull off the cheese from other mushrooms. I put only a speck of garlic butter on the filled mushrooms, so that the appetizer does not drip while being eaten. Or else bake & serve this in individual ramekins, so guests can drip onto their own plate. A serving is 2? I think not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I have to admit I was a little skeptical as I was making these that they would be flavorful enough; I kept thinking I could add a little X or a little Y, but I stayed true to the recipe and they are great! I only used at most 2 TBSP butter and a dash of EVOO just to lighten it up a little, but other than that the ingredients remained the same. After consulting w/ambi, I put the shroom caps (large Portabellas) in the oven for about 10 min first, then proceeded to fill and bake them. Following the advice of prior reviewers, I broiled for about 2 min to get the tops golden brown. My only *complain*, if you will, w/these is they're not real easy to eat (and get a bite of everything). When I make them again (notice, I said "when"), I may chop the shrimp for eating ease. Oh yeah, don't be an idiot like me and forget to take the tails of the shrimp....THANKS for a keeper, ambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Not that you need ANOTHER 5 stars to convince yourself to try this, but I'm giving it,anyway! :) This is wonderful. I used small shrimp and topped with Italian blend cheese and broiled in the oven in my cast iron. A huge hit and a great appetizer to our steak dinner. Thanks, ambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Photo by missdrea
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
this was so good! to make it a dinner i doubled it and served it with pesto pasta. i did follow the suggestions of some of the reviews and chopped the shrimp before i cooked it, baked 10 mins before filling with the shrimp mixture, used half butter and half olive oil. i also added some parsley, crushed red pepper, and some lemon juice, not that it needed it, just felt like doing it though. will definately make these for appetizers in the future. so easy and looked really impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Let me start off by saying I HATE shrimp. This was my first time cooking them and the recipe turned out good. I even ate some of this....and liked it. Next time i'm gonna dice up the shrimp before stuffing the shrooms (since its the texture of shrimp im not a fan of). Also, as suggested by the sumitter, I sauteed the mushrooms in the butter/garlic sauce for about 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Wow, Ambibambi! These are out of this world! I ate two and DH ate the rest before I could bat an eye. I had to bake them a little longer and finally broiled them to brown the cheese. I put some of the sauteed garlic into the mushroom caps before placing the shrimp inside. MMMMMMMM! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States