Shrimpcargot Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Made about three and a half dozen of these for a get together. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
This was wonderful. As other reviewers suggested, I also added Italian Bread crumbs to the mix along with the mushroom stems...(used regular white mushrooms). I am a Realtor and served these at my sunset OPEN HOUSE for potential buyers. What HUGE HIT. People seemed to stay much longer than other opens I have had and several asked for the recipe! Thanks Amby...maybe I owe you part of my commission! This will be a staple open house treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I made these for an appetizer party, and everyone loved them. I increased the recipe to make 24. I precooked the mini-portabellas for five minutes upside down, mixed Italian breadcrumbs with the garlic butter in which I cooked the shrimp, placed a teaspoon of the crumb mixture on each mushroom cap, curled a shrimp on top and then added the cheese. There weren't any left by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Colorado, USA
Living In: Berthoud, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
This is so delicious and so incredibly easy to make. I stuffed the cheese into the mushroom caps first rather than sprinkling it on top because I thought that would mean less clean up later, but other than that, I didn't change a thing. I have spent a not insignificant amount of money on similar appetizers while dining out, and this is FAR superior. Thanks, Ambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I followed the recommendations of others for this recipe--cut shrimp, added more cheese and pre-baked the bellas. I also added Old Bay...being from the Bay area that's a given with shrimp! I thought they were good but not great, however, the party I took them too people raved. Lot of work involved for these fussy little things. Next time, and yes I will make again I would add even more Old Bay and not pre-bake bellas as long. Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA
Living In: Forest Hill, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wonderful! I "dried" out my mushrooms prior to filling due to other comments. I also chopped up my shrimp finely and at the end put the dish under the broiler for a few minutes. I made 12 since I wasn't sure if we would like them and my daughter ate 6, yes, 6 and she was asking for more. I have been asked to make them again soon, like tomorrow. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
yes...this recipe is great...i really didn't do anything diffy but more garlic but it is such a versatile recipe...i read some of the reviews but turned out okay for me...sorry i didn't review sooner...always suggest it tho...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Fabulous dish - easy to make, looks beautiful when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Wow, Ambibambi! These are out of this world! I ate two and DH ate the rest before I could bat an eye. I had to bake them a little longer and finally broiled them to brown the cheese. I put some of the sauteed garlic into the mushroom caps before placing the shrimp inside. MMMMMMMM! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Not that you need ANOTHER 5 stars to convince yourself to try this, but I'm giving it,anyway! :) This is wonderful. I used small shrimp and topped with Italian blend cheese and broiled in the oven in my cast iron. A huge hit and a great appetizer to our steak dinner. Thanks, ambi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni

Displaying results 151-160 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Baked Coconut Shrimp

See how to make crispy, crunchy coconut shrimp in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States