Shrimp with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I've actually been making a very similar recipe for about 18 years. It was actually taught to me by my landlord at the time. He was from Italy and this was one of his specialties. Unfortunately, tomatoes are lousy this time of year. I used good quality canned. I also tossed in some Italian seasoning. I served it over angel hair pasta, a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was a big success with my family. Used frozen, pre-cooked, tail-off shrimp... thawed. Poured shrimp/tomato mixture into angel hair pasta, mixed & served. Very easy and quick!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
So quick and easy--which is key with 2 children under the age of 3--and so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
My husband and I really love this one. We substitute the roma tomatoes whit our home canned stewed tomatoes with green pepper, onions, and celery. That really gives it a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Didn't have tomatoes, so used ordinary pasta sauce instead. Excellent over pasta shells with small bits of broccolli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was very good. I used 2 cups of grape tomatos insted and it turned out really well. My husband loved this. I served it over whit rice and there was none left!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Good recipe. To cut the acid of the tomatoes I added about a tablespoon of molasses. And I added a few more spices. Very quick and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMIYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Rating this a four, even though I ultimately had to add a bit more seasoning to create the sauce I wanted. But I really, really like this recipe with a few minor additions and will definitely make again! I used canned petite diced tomatoes and probably 7 garlic cloves because some were small. After the salt and cayenne and simmering a bit, I tasted and decided to add dry onion and basil. As the sauce simmered I added a bit of pasta water to keep it from drying out before the flavors had really blended. Delicious with the shrimp over angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SJohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Agree with Nene but also add sliced mushrooms to jazz it up a little more. A little cayenne and chili powder on the shrimp prior to adding the shrimp is a nice touch also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was a big hit. A little spicy but I was heavy handed with the pepper and garlic. Can't wait to make it this summer with garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDZABINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States