Shrimp with Penne and Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This is a GREAT base recipe! For those who thought it was bland, try adding a whole onion, a few cloves of garlic, double the spices and some black pepper. We did this and it was restaurant quality. I also stirred in chunks of mozzarella cheese at the end and the way it melts gave a delicious texture to the dish. So with these adjustments, its a 5-star! Thanks Grumpy's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheOtherHunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Kinda bland for my taste. It needed quite a bit of parmesan to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I have a 2-yr old so most of my cooking is done in the middle of the day during nap time so I've learned to partially make things so they can be thrown together last minute for dinner. I added onion to the squash (which I cut back on) and sautéed it ahead of time. When it was time to eat I sautéed the shrimp for 3 min then set them aside. I put the squash mixture, fresh basil & parsley, some grape tomatoes and some crushed red pepper flakes in the same pan I cooked the shrimp in and deglazed it with the lemon juice and some white wine. I threw in the pasta and shrimp and tossed it to make sure everything was heated through. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Healthy and quick to prepare. But the flavor is very subtle. We added cajun seasoning to our plates - that would increase our rating to 4*.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
My husband and I loved this. I used pre-cooked shrimp and put it in just long enough to get warm. I also added asparagus and snap peas, but left out the chives. I will be adding this into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This was really yummy. I, too, added a little diced onion and instead of penne I used bowtie pasta (what I had on hand) The only other addition was some red pepper flakes. Thank you for a "keeper" recipe. Next time I think I'll try this with chicken and add some mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was great! I only had yellow squash, and I also had no lemon so I increased the white wine and added extra garlic. It's a great recipe to play with depending on what ingredients you have on hand. We loved it and will definitely make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
It was very good. Make sure you don't overcook the veggies and follow the times as given. I added a bit of wine and it was fantastic. A quick delicious meal! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
For a lighter recipe this was surprisingly flavorful. I used whole wheat penne and fresh herbs. I also added the onion in with the herbs instead of putting them on top as I prefer my onions cooked. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Excellent light tasting pasta dish. Added 2 tsp. minced garlic to oil before adding zucchini. Also added diced onion and mushrooms. Very fresh tasting but not a whole lot of depth of flavor, so added some crushed red pepper for a little kick. Would experiment with adding a little white wine or additional herbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States