Shrimp Versailles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
just great, with a few revisions. i doubled the onions like others did, added a good amt. of garlic powder, and added 1/2 T of cayenne. i also cooked the shrimp (2 lbs of med. sized in 1 T butter and a little olive oil) w/the cream cheese and spices thinking the flavors would meld better than cooking the shrimp first w/only the onions (and fresh mushrooms which i also added), knowing that shrimp cooks fast and it still had to go under the broiler. i also added more white wine and milk--didn't measure--no need to, it's pretty obvious when to quit as the original recipe is just too thick. served it over linguini and would never put it over rice. really, it was *divine* and everyone loved it here inc. my 11-yr-old son. thanx so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennette
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was a really nice meal. I used precooked shrimp, doubled the green onion and added about 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic. I used reduced fat cream cheese which was fine but I could kinda tell so I won't do that next time. The sauce was incredibly thick so I doubled both the milk and chicken broth (in replace of the wine). Even with the extra liquids it was very thick and rich. I served it over rice as many reviewers suggested, but after having had the dish I think that pasta would have been MUCH better. Oh- and I doubled the bread crumb mixture over top. It turned out great, served with steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was good but it is indeed very very rich. The only thing I did differently was to use Neufchâtel cream cheese and half Swiss, half Provolone. I think this would work with grilled tuna steaks too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This had a good flavor, I did add more green onions as others had suggested, however the sauce was really thick, I think next time I will cut back some of the cream cheese and maybe add some half & half or chicken broth to thin it a little. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Misner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I don't like most seafood except tuna, so I tend to try taking recipes with shrimp/crab/etc and replacing with tuna. Sometimes works & sometimes doesn't. This actually worked well with tuna. I didn't add anything extra to it and thought the "cream" part of it was very good -- I didn't think it needed more zing because of the richness of it, and that was even using fat-free cream cheese & Swiss cheese. (So no, I don't "just trust" whoever said it was blah.) I tried this with pasta and didn't think much of that. Since I didn't use shrimp, I didn't feel right actually rating it, but it seems it's going to "make me." :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The flavor was good, but EXTREMELY rich. My mother who was visiting loved it, but my husband and I were not too fond of it. So, if you are not used to eating rich food, like us, I would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I didn't care too much for this recipe. The taste was fine, but the thick texture of the cream cheese was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
EXCELLENT! What a treat this was, and easy to make! I used precooked shrimp and it was fine (same quantity). I used 2 or 3 entire green onions and I'm glad I did! I also tossed in a little extra Swiss cheese too, and doubled the bread crumb mixture for extra topping. Overall a very pleasing dish! I had lots of compliments on the recipe! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very different and VERY rich. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added more scallions and cayenne pepper which gave it more zip. Served it over plain white rice with asparagus spears on the side. I think it may also have been good served over toast points or puff pastry. As only two of us had it for dinner, we had leftovers and it was just fine reheated in the microwave the next day (maybe even a little better as the flavors melded). Thanks for this elegant, albeit sinfully rich, shrimp dish. Will definitely make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is absolutely delicious, I also added 1 can crab and 1 tsp crushed garlic. This is great dipped with fresh crusty bread. Always gets rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States