Shrimp Versailles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Changed this recipe a little--used garlic instead of onion and a Monterey cheddar mix instead of Swiss, and also added some cayenne pepper. Instead of broiling in the oven, I just added some cooked rice to the sauce on the stovetop and ate it like that! Yummy! The flavor is very nice with just a slight kick---Easy and quick too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
We LOVED this recipe! Per the other reviews I would add more green onion, some garlic, mushrooms and more pepper. It makes enough sauce that 2lbs or more of shrimp can be used. Awesome as is though we will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm not normally a seafood lover, but I thought this was wonderful. Used pre-cooked, de-tailed shrimp, and made the following changes in accordance with reviewer's suggestions: 1. used 5T green onions (about 3 scallions total), 2. added two cloves of crushed garlic, 3. added only about 6 oz cream cheese, 4. increased white wine to 1/2 cup, added BEFORE cheese so it could reduce a little bit. It turned out wonderfully-- savory and rich, and not too seafoody. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
EXCELLENT! What a treat this was, and easy to make! I used precooked shrimp and it was fine (same quantity). I used 2 or 3 entire green onions and I'm glad I did! I also tossed in a little extra Swiss cheese too, and doubled the bread crumb mixture for extra topping. Overall a very pleasing dish! I had lots of compliments on the recipe! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe, it really gives shrimp a new direction that is so very bold and different from the norm . . . it went over really well and I even have requests for it . . . on a scale of 1 - 10 it's a 20+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8_Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
just great, with a few revisions. i doubled the onions like others did, added a good amt. of garlic powder, and added 1/2 T of cayenne. i also cooked the shrimp (2 lbs of med. sized in 1 T butter and a little olive oil) w/the cream cheese and spices thinking the flavors would meld better than cooking the shrimp first w/only the onions (and fresh mushrooms which i also added), knowing that shrimp cooks fast and it still had to go under the broiler. i also added more white wine and milk--didn't measure--no need to, it's pretty obvious when to quit as the original recipe is just too thick. served it over linguini and would never put it over rice. really, it was *divine* and everyone loved it here inc. my 11-yr-old son. thanx so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Great Recipe. Sorry I don't usually measure but here were my alterations to the recipe. 1/2 yellow onion. 1 bunch green onions, italian blend cheese, and Sauvignon Blanc wine over angel hair pasta. This is a really rich dish and it was great for a special dinner for my husband. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was sooo good but incredibly rich. It was exactly the flavors I wanted. My changes were only that I used butter instead of margarine, added garlic and used shrimp and scallops. When I sauteed the scallops a lot of moisture came out so I added that to the sauce which worked really well. The best part is my husband hates this kind of stuff so I have a full serving for lunch tomorrow as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is absolutely delicious, I also added 1 can crab and 1 tsp crushed garlic. This is great dipped with fresh crusty bread. Always gets rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This had a good flavor, I did add more green onions as others had suggested, however the sauce was really thick, I think next time I will cut back some of the cream cheese and maybe add some half & half or chicken broth to thin it a little. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Misner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States