Shrimp Versailles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This is exellent and very easy to make. Strongly suggest increasing the green onions by 2 more Tbsp. and increase the cayanne pepper to 1/4 tsp. Gives a perfect amount of "zing." Using the amount of pepper called for is blah..........trust me on this one. Next time I think I will add some mushrooms and maybe some garlic. This would be good company dish served in puff pastry tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
just great, with a few revisions. i doubled the onions like others did, added a good amt. of garlic powder, and added 1/2 T of cayenne. i also cooked the shrimp (2 lbs of med. sized in 1 T butter and a little olive oil) w/the cream cheese and spices thinking the flavors would meld better than cooking the shrimp first w/only the onions (and fresh mushrooms which i also added), knowing that shrimp cooks fast and it still had to go under the broiler. i also added more white wine and milk--didn't measure--no need to, it's pretty obvious when to quit as the original recipe is just too thick. served it over linguini and would never put it over rice. really, it was *divine* and everyone loved it here inc. my 11-yr-old son. thanx so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I'm not normally a seafood lover, but I thought this was wonderful. Used pre-cooked, de-tailed shrimp, and made the following changes in accordance with reviewer's suggestions: 1. used 5T green onions (about 3 scallions total), 2. added two cloves of crushed garlic, 3. added only about 6 oz cream cheese, 4. increased white wine to 1/2 cup, added BEFORE cheese so it could reduce a little bit. It turned out wonderfully-- savory and rich, and not too seafoody. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was sooo good but incredibly rich. It was exactly the flavors I wanted. My changes were only that I used butter instead of margarine, added garlic and used shrimp and scallops. When I sauteed the scallops a lot of moisture came out so I added that to the sauce which worked really well. The best part is my husband hates this kind of stuff so I have a full serving for lunch tomorrow as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Kind of like a creamy shrimp scampi. I added mushrooms and stirred in some linguine noodles before broiling. I didn't use the bread crumbs, but Parmesan instead. I will make again, with maybe a T or two more of milk or a little less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This was good but it is indeed very very rich. The only thing I did differently was to use Neufchâtel cream cheese and half Swiss, half Provolone. I think this would work with grilled tuna steaks too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Great Recipe. Sorry I don't usually measure but here were my alterations to the recipe. 1/2 yellow onion. 1 bunch green onions, italian blend cheese, and Sauvignon Blanc wine over angel hair pasta. This is a really rich dish and it was great for a special dinner for my husband. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very good. Next time I might use dry sherry instead of white wine to give it more taste. Added minced garlic, it's a must and used Panko bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennette Paul
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was a really nice meal. I used precooked shrimp, doubled the green onion and added about 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic. I used reduced fat cream cheese which was fine but I could kinda tell so I won't do that next time. The sauce was incredibly thick so I doubled both the milk and chicken broth (in replace of the wine). Even with the extra liquids it was very thick and rich. I served it over rice as many reviewers suggested, but after having had the dish I think that pasta would have been MUCH better. Oh- and I doubled the bread crumb mixture over top. It turned out great, served with steamed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennette Paul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe, it really gives shrimp a new direction that is so very bold and different from the norm . . . it went over really well and I even have requests for it . . . on a scale of 1 - 10 it's a 20+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8_Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States