Shrimp Versailles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
This is exellent and very easy to make. Strongly suggest increasing the green onions by 2 more Tbsp. and increase the cayanne pepper to 1/4 tsp. Gives a perfect amount of "zing." Using the amount of pepper called for is blah..........trust me on this one. Next time I think I will add some mushrooms and maybe some garlic. This would be good company dish served in puff pastry tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Changed this recipe a little--used garlic instead of onion and a Monterey cheddar mix instead of Swiss, and also added some cayenne pepper. Instead of broiling in the oven, I just added some cooked rice to the sauce on the stovetop and ate it like that! Yummy! The flavor is very nice with just a slight kick---Easy and quick too. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
We LOVED this recipe! Per the other reviews I would add more green onion, some garlic, mushrooms and more pepper. It makes enough sauce that 2lbs or more of shrimp can be used. Awesome as is though we will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe, it really gives shrimp a new direction that is so very bold and different from the norm . . . it went over really well and I even have requests for it . . . on a scale of 1 - 10 it's a 20+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N8_Bee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
This is absolutely delicious, I also added 1 can crab and 1 tsp crushed garlic. This is great dipped with fresh crusty bread. Always gets rave reviews everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very different and VERY rich. I took the advice of a previous reviewer and added more scallions and cayenne pepper which gave it more zip. Served it over plain white rice with asparagus spears on the side. I think it may also have been good served over toast points or puff pastry. As only two of us had it for dinner, we had leftovers and it was just fine reheated in the microwave the next day (maybe even a little better as the flavors melded). Thanks for this elegant, albeit sinfully rich, shrimp dish. Will definitely make it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
EXCELLENT! What a treat this was, and easy to make! I used precooked shrimp and it was fine (same quantity). I used 2 or 3 entire green onions and I'm glad I did! I also tossed in a little extra Swiss cheese too, and doubled the bread crumb mixture for extra topping. Overall a very pleasing dish! I had lots of compliments on the recipe! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I didn't care too much for this recipe. The taste was fine, but the thick texture of the cream cheese was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
The flavor was good, but EXTREMELY rich. My mother who was visiting loved it, but my husband and I were not too fond of it. So, if you are not used to eating rich food, like us, I would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I don't like most seafood except tuna, so I tend to try taking recipes with shrimp/crab/etc and replacing with tuna. Sometimes works & sometimes doesn't. This actually worked well with tuna. I didn't add anything extra to it and thought the "cream" part of it was very good -- I didn't think it needed more zing because of the richness of it, and that was even using fat-free cream cheese & Swiss cheese. (So no, I don't "just trust" whoever said it was blah.) I tried this with pasta and didn't think much of that. Since I didn't use shrimp, I didn't feel right actually rating it, but it seems it's going to "make me." :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States