Shrimp Vermicelli Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a very comforting Summer salad, the cool tender pasta and the shrimp salad go well together on a hot day. Instead of Parmesan, I used Asiago Cheese. It sure did give the whole salad a good zing to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Talamantez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I used the broken Vermicelli (8 ounce package) instead of the long strands, thinking it would easier to eat. This is a fine base but I think it needs more celery, possibly some fine diced onion. Dill is a better choice to go with shrimp I think. There wouldn't be enough dressing for a whole pound of vermicelli. Visually, it needs a little color. Red and orange peppers, maybe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I make this same salad but I add 5 finely chopped hard boiled eggs, green onions instead of celery a little half and half, a tbls lemon juice, no cheese thyme or garlic. 1/1/2 cups mayo and 2 pounds of shrimp and the salt and pepper to taste is important, it is delicious and always people want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Used about a pound and a half of medium (31/40) shrimp ... and did not adjust other ingredients. Seemed the right amount of "goop." Added three or four sliced scallions and about a cup of frozen peas. Will serve at a potluck tomorrow, but it did seem a bit under-flavored tonight, so I sprinkled on some Old Bay (hey ... I'm in Baltimore, hon -- Old Bay is culinary duct tape in these parts). I trust that the OB ... and a night to mature in the fridge ... will do the trick. Oh ... and I should have paid attention to those reviewers who suggested a different pasta (bow ties or shells, perhaps). The "spaghetti" aspect (even though I broke the vermicelli into thirds before boiling it) may make this a bit of a hard sell as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was pretty good; however, I felt like I wanted more shrimp....next time I make this I will add another pound of shrimp to the recipe. My kids actually warmed it up and like it that way also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This was really good & great for a big group. There did not seem to be enough mayo & spices so I increased the mayo by 1/2 cup & threw in some more spices & it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I had everything ready and then realized my shrimp was bad :( and it was still good without it so definitely 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I think it would've been better if I used less noodles or more mayo...But, I will definantly try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
I used bowtie pasta instead of vermicelli, and garlic powder instead of fresh garlic. I like dill better than thyme, so used dill. I will make this again for a cool summer salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I agree about the amout of pasta. Half pound is much better. I added a little cajun seasoning and cherry tomatoes sliced in half. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Jones Leggett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States